Review: A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

a mad wicked folly

Title: A Mad, Wicked Folly

Author: Sharon Biggs Waller

Release Date/Publisher: January 23rd 2014 by Viking Juvenile

Finished: December 13th 2013

Pages: 448-Paperback-ARC

Synopsis:

Welcome to the world of the fabulously wealthy in London, 1909, where dresses and houses are overwhelmingly opulent, social class means everything, and women are taught to be nothing more than wives and mothers. Into this world comes seventeen-year-old Victoria Darling, who wants only to be an artist—a nearly impossible dream for a girl.

After Vicky poses nude for her illicit art class, she is expelled from her French finishing school. Shamed and scandalized, her parents try to marry her off to the wealthy Edmund Carrick-Humphrey. But Vicky has other things on her mind: her clandestine application to the Royal College of Art; her participation in the suffragette movement; and her growing attraction to a working-class boy who may be her muse—or may be the love of her life. As the world of debutante balls, corsets, and high society obligations closes in around her, Vicky must figure out: just how much is she willing to sacrifice to pursue her dreams?

What I thought:

I received a copy of this to review from the publisher, thank you! The final copy could be different, I’m not able to compare since it’s not released yet.

I am so in love with this book! I almost didn’t even want to finish it because then it would be done, but at least I can keep this copy and eventually get a final version.

It’s set in 1909 in an era where women didn’t have the right to vote or much freedom at all, but some kept fighting for it. I actually really liked the suffragettes in this story that were mentioned. What they fought for was so important and I really felt for the women that had to go through so much just to push this change.

Another great thing is that if you’re not a history buff there’s actually a section in the back that explains certain things more, such as the clothing, the lifestyle and the artists mentioned. There’s even a nice bibliography and a recipe!

I was worried that I wouldn’t like Vicky, with her being an artist I figured she would be annoying, snobby or even act too modern for the setting. But she was actually great! She loved art so much that she was even willing to give up happiness just to be able to learn more. She seems like she has a real talent for it even though the men don’t think women can really excel at anything. That’s not saying that she doesn’t make some silly decisions. although because she’s a woman she doesn’t always have the option otherwise.

If you’re looking for that swoony man then this book definitely has one. Will, while not rich, is such a nice, sweet and caring guy. Some of the things he does just for Vicky just made me smile. I really was rooting for him and her to get together in this. I can’t tell you what happened though because you’ll have to read it.

I really loved reading this book and I had a hard time putting it down. It has romance, art and a perfect historical setting that just might inspire women to go out there and do what they love. Definitely read this!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

  1. We’ve talked about this one a couple times! I can’t wait until it’s actually released so I can buy a copy and check it out. I really like that there’s the section in the back that explains some of the historical aspects, so I won’t feel completely overwhelmed.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

