Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

codenameverity

There’s a bunch of different covers for this, but the one above was attached to my eBook. 

Title: Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #1)

Author: Elizabeth Wein

Release Date/Publisher: May 15th 2012 by Doubleday Canada (first published February 6th 2012)

Finished: November 8th 2013

Pages: 352 (253 according to my Kobo)-eBook-Library

Series: 

  1. Code Name Verity
  2. Rose Under Fire

Synopsis:

Code Name Verity is a compelling, emotionally rich story with universal themes of friendship and loyalty, heroism and bravery.
 
Two young women from totally different backgrounds are thrown together during World War II: one a working-class girl from Manchester, the other a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a wireless operator. Yet whenever their paths cross, they complement each other perfectly and before long become devoted friends. But then a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France. She is captured by the Gestapo and becomes a prisoner of war. The story begins in “Verity’s” own words, as she writes her account for her captors.

What I thought:

I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while, and what better time than just before Remembrance Day (I know this review is going up months after reading though).

I wasn’t sure what to expect with it since I don’t really read historical books that have to do with war often. This was written as a kind of correspondence or journal. It felt so real, as if the girls really existed back then. I loved that writing style and I thought it was really well done and it fit the whole book really well.

When the first girl Verity writes and she’s in captivity I felt so sad for her. I understand that she doesn’t want to be tortured anymore so she gives information up, but even then the conditions are harsh and she still gets treated like a prisoner. I’m glad they didn’t go into too much detail of the torture they were giving before. Her story sometimes got slow, especially when talking about planes and landscapes but I think that was to get her mind around the inevitable ending that she was trying to avoid and everything that’s happened to her. In the end though it all kind of made sense. I liked how she still tried to be strong and how she seemed to idolize her pilot and best friend Maddie.

The second story is called Kitty Hawk, and is the other girl mentioned in the description. I won’t say much about her so nothing is ruined when you read, but I liked reading what was going on with her too. They were both strong willed girls, just trying to survive and get home somehow.

This really is a great book and will probably leave you emotional after everything is over. A great pick for anyone who loves historical books, especially one set during World War 2. I know it’s fiction but it almost could have read as if it was real.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

8 comments on “Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

  1. Everyone has really loved this book and I still haven’t read it. I remember starting the audio once for a trip down to my parents and made it into the third CD but it seemed like one of those stories that you really had to pay attention to, so I put it away telling myself that I’d pick up the physical book at some point and still never have! I’m going to have to … I remember it being really good!

    • Nice, I’m still getting into audiobooks and it might have taken too much concentration for me, but glad to hear that it’s good in that form too! I’ve heard other people mention that as well 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

