Review: The Second Sign by Elizabeth Arroyo

TheSecondSign.indd

Title: The Second Sign (The Second Sign #1)

Author: Elizabeth Arroyo

Release Date/Publisher: February 4th 2013 by Sapphire Star Publishing

Finished: January 12th 2014

Pages: 238-Kindle eBook-given for review

Series: 

  1. The Second Sign
  2. The Second Shadow

Synopsis:

Bred to believe in the war between angels and demons, Gabby has come to the conclusion that love is responsible for war, jealousy, and all the other deadly sins she can think of. So when she’s exiled to the middle of nowhere for getting kicked out of her fifth school for fighting, she doesn’t expect to meet Jake. Much less fall in love. But Jake is quickly drawn to the eerie beauty of her violet eyes while Gabby is unsettled by their undeniable connection.

When a demon guardian comes to collect her soul, she refuses to give it up. She’s not a demon. She can’t be. Her father and twin brother are angels. The demon gives Gabby twenty-four hours to decide her allegiance, and then starts killing her short list of friends, leaving a message behind: She is the Second Sign.

As Gabby and Jake begin to unravel the mystery behind the Second Sign, she learns Jake may be the key to saving her soul. But it means a sacrifice has to be made that will change their lives forever.

What I thought:

I was given the opportunity to review these on my own time from Xpresso Tours.

I wasn’t sure what I would think of this one but the description really interested me so I wanted to give it a try.

The main problem was Gabby. She pushed everyone away and didn’t want to be close to them, which was understandable since her brother was an angel and she had gifts and could see things through touch. But after a certain point where it seems like her and Jake could be an item, she kept doing it even though she liked him and it got annoying. It was a bit much after he helps her a lot and shows how he feels.

I also just found her too negative. Especially when she kept asking herself why Jake liked her, and that he’d find someone else and leave her eventually. That really bugs me when characters say that in books. I just want to be like “he likes you, accept it already!”

Jake I liked more but he wasn’t amazing. He was a daredevil and as soon as he saw Gabby he wanted to know more about her. He fell for her hard and it was nice seeing him trying his best to help her figure things out, even though she wouldn’t tell him anything. He’s the one that fell in insta-love, not the girl this time. He acts kind of like a jerk a few times later on though.

I liked finding out what the Second Sign was and how it was connected to them. I thought there would have been more mention of the angels and demons and them using their gifts which I would definitely have wanted. But it was more Gabby and Jake running around that little town and looking into things and there were some pretty gruesome murders that turned me off a bit. The main evil entity was ok, but you don’t see them as much until later, they mostly threaten and then disappear. I didn’t like the ending too much either, it felt like it went by pretty fast too.

The story was ok but there were things that could have been better or added in that I felt was missing and overall I didn’t really like it. Mainly Gabby is what brought down the rating for me, I just want her to stop acting the way she does. There’s a chance you might like it though because it does have potential, so still give it a shot it if sounds interesting to you.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

XpressoBannerTours

6 comments on “Review: The Second Sign by Elizabeth Arroyo

  1. Aw, I hate it when a book sounds promising but just doesn’t quite pay off. Especially the ending… even if it’s the first in a series, THIS ending still needs to be satisfying!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

