Review: Cracked by Eliza Crewe

cracked

Title: Cracked (Soul Eater #1)

Author: Eliza Crewe

Release Date/Publisher: November 5th 2013 by Strange Chemistry

Finished: December 6th 2013

Pages: 327-Paperback-owned

Series: 

  1. Cracked
  2. Crushed
  3. Crossed

Synopsis:

Meet Meda. She eats people.

Well, technically, she eats their soul. But she totally promises to only go for people who deserve it. She’s special. It’s not her fault she enjoys it. She can’t help being a bad guy. Besides, what else can she do? Her mother was killed and it’s not like there are any other “soul-eaters” around to show her how to be different. That is, until the three men in suits show up.

They can do what she can do. They’re like her. Meda might finally have a chance to figure out what she is. The problem? They kind of want to kill her. Before they get the chance Meda is rescued by crusaders, members of an elite group dedicated to wiping out Meda’s kind. This is her chance! Play along with the “good guys” and she’ll finally figure out what, exactly, her ‘kind’ is.

Be careful what you wish for. Playing capture the flag with her mortal enemies, babysitting a teenage boy with a hero complex, and trying to keep one step ahead of a too-clever girl are bad enough. But the Hunger is gaining on her.

The more she learns, the worse it gets. And when Meda uncovers a shocking secret about her mother, her past, and her destiny… she may finally give into it.

What I thought:

Oh my goodness this book was good! I found out about it from another blogger’s review and it sounded really interesting. I couldn’t find it anywhere in my library system, so I figured I might as well treat myself and just buy it.

One of the things I loved the most was of course Meda. Her humour was kind of wicked and dark at times but I really loved it. For instance she would be acting all innocent to win someone over, while plotting in her head the best way to kill them, sometimes with a pun added. She also had a bunch of funny comebacks in her thoughts. She’s half-human, half something dark and when I found out what it all was I thought it was awesome. She was just a breath of fresh air because she was different from a lot of other female leads out there.

I loved her interactions with the other characters too. Jo is the stubborn and mean girl who everyone thinks is weak because she lost her leg. Meda takes a liking to her after a while. Chi is the guy who seems like he could do anything and kind of a golden boy at their school. Uri though was my second favourite character in all of this. He idolizes Chi but he takes his own weight even though he’s young, and Meda seems to get along with him well. He was just fun. And I love the part where they play food charades! Popcorn anyone?

If you’re not sold on just the characters yet, there’s lots of action and fighting between the demons and Templars. There’s no actual romance between Meda and anyone, but some side characters have a bit of one. I really liked that part because it doesn’t take away from the actual plot of the story.

I loved this book, and I’m super excited to continue this series!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Cracked by Eliza Crewe

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

