Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Onyx

Title: Onyx (Lux #2)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Release Date/Publisher: August 14th 2012 by Entangled Teen

Finished: November 24th 2013

Pages: 366-Paperback-Owned

Series: 

  1. Obsidian
  2. Onyx
  3. Opal
  4. Origin
  5. Opposition

Synopsis:

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

What I thought:

First of all, I have to say that I don’t like the female model for this cover. Katie is supposed to be more curvy and not flat chested. But that doesn’t affect my review!

Kat and Daemon are still at their fighting ways and with all the steam of the first book. After a certain even in the last book, she gains a connection to him and starts to change a bit. I thought this was actually pretty awesome, aside from the fact that she attributes his attraction to her as fake and only part of the connection. I really kept wishing that she would give in faster to him and the fact that it’s obvious she likes him. She’s in denial! Daemon of course starts to try and win her over and treats her a bit better. His sweeter side makes more of an appearance too which I really liked.

Blake was an added character into this, and I really didn’t like him. He seems like a great guy at first, but I didn’t want a love-triangle added in. Luckily that doesn’t last long, especially with what happens with him later on. The other Lux don’t play as much as a role in this either, we hardly see Dee aside from mentions of her making out with her boyfriend. I missed having her more active.

I really enjoyed this first book, aside from the addition of Blake, but I do understand he was needed for the story. The first was the best so far in my opinion but this one was still such a good read.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I love this series. And you are so right–cover girl looks not a thing like Katy-in-my-head. You have got to read Shadows too. It’s not your ordinary prequel, and it’s SO good. I can’t wait for Opposition to come out 🙂

    • They have Shadows at the library but there’s a few people on the waiting list for the eBook, so I’ll be waiting for when I have time to read it. 🙂 I can’t wait for Opposition too!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

