Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic

Title: Panic

Author: Lauren Oliver

Release Date/Publisher: March 4th 2014 by HarperCollins

Finished: January 29th 2014

Pages: 416-ARC eBook-given for review

Synopsis:

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

Already optioned by Universal Pictures in a major deal, this gritty, spellbinding novel captures both the raw energy of fear mixed with excitement, as well as the aching need to find a place to belong.

What I thought:

Now just because I marked it as DNF does not mean I hated it. Someday I might pick it up again and try and get through the whole thing, but I have many books to read and I just couldn’t do it anymore. I made it 35% of the way in before going onto something else. I really tried to stay with it but it made me not even want to pick up my Kindle.

The book’s description sounds promising and I went in hoping I would like it. To be honest though I had the hardest time keeping my attention on it at all. So many moments were lacking in any kind of excitement, even during one dangerous challenge I felt it was lacking. I wasn’t expecting super action scenes, but at least something more interesting than  what was going on. The game itself wasn’t that great, they were pretty much just doing dangerous stunts because it was custom for high school grads and they wanted the jackpot money.

I did enjoy Heather and Dodge up to a point, and I did feel for them and understood why they wanted to win. I’ve seen so many people love and enjoy this book, and that’s great! I hope you still give it a chance when it’s out, and please let me know what you think!

DNF

6 comments on “Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

  1. Oh, I’m so sad about this! I love Lauren’s writing and was hoping that this would be good, but I’m seeing so many negative reviews. 😦 That sucks you had to DNF it!

  2. I fished it but I was not happy with it. I love Oliver’s writing but this story line was bland and predictable. And to be honest, quite boring. I really thought it would be better. I loved Before I Fall and thought for sure it would be more in line with her writing in that story.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

