Review: Stray by Rachel Vincent

stray

Title: Stray (Shifters #1)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Release Date/Publisher: April 1st 2010 by Mira Books
Finished: January 23rd 2014
Pages: 624-eBook-owned
Series:
1. Stray
2. Rogue
3. Pride
4. Prey
5. Shift
6. Alpha

Synopsis from Goodreads

I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds.

Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked.

I’d been warned about Strays–werecats without a Pride–constantly on the lookout for someone like me: attractive, female and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared.

This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back…for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I’m no meek kitty. I’ll take on whatever–and whoever–I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays–’cause I got claws, and I’m not afraid to use them….

What I Thought

I’ve read this author’s complete Soul Screamers series and loved it, so I really wanted to try out this one. I bought it a while back but hadn’t started it until now. I had Kobo issues while reading it, but that doesn’t affect my rating.

The beginning starts out well with a fight! We then learn a bunch about the werecats, the different classes and the structure of how everything works for them early on, which helped me understand it easily. It wasn’t an info dump, but expanded over a few chapters which was great.

When she goes back homes things slow down a lot and all she wants to do is leave and go back to school so she can have a sense that she’s free. She’s the daughter of the Alpha of their region too so she can get away with certain things that others might not. There’s a bit of a love triangle, but if you read it there really doesn’t seem to be much of a competition, and it’s brief and not at the forefront of the book. I have to admit that I did like Faythe, although her constant thoughts of escape got a bit too much, she had a kind of bad-ass attitude and wasn’t afraid to state her mind or get dirty in a fight if need be. I’m excited to see how she changes as this series goes on.

After a bit of rebelling from her it kicks up after a certain event. There’s some mention of things that might be uncomfortable with concerns for the captured girls, like rape and murder, but this is an adult book and the world of supernatural races isn’t always simple. It’s not graphic though which is good.

I have to say that this was a good start to a series and I’m excited to read the rest of it. I’m kind of really glad it’s all out so I don’t have to wait too. If you’re used to her Young Adult series I don’t think you’ll have a hard time transitioning to this Adult one, I know I didn’t.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Stray by Rachel Vincent

  1. Ooh I’m excited you’re getting into this series and enjoyed the first book! These have been recommended to me many times and I keep meaning to get my hands on this one and start – I hope you review motivates me more lol I love a good adult paranormal with a kick-a** heroine and this sounds like just that! The MC sounds awesome too 😀 Great review Kelsey ^^ I hope you love the rest of the books even more!

  2. I bought this book YEARS ago and was really excited about it and loved it. I think afterwards I became discouraged because the second hadn’t been release, or wasn’t available or something, but I really enjoyed it and I should eventually try to finish it?

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

