Review: Dangerous Curves Ahead by Sugar Jamison

dangerous cuvres ahead

Title: Dangerous Curves Ahead (Perfect Fit #1)
Author: Sugar Jamison
Release Date/Publisher: August 27th 2013 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
Finished: February 3rd 2014
Pages: 368-Paperback-Library
Series:
1. Dangerous Curves Ahead
2. Thrown for a Curve
3. Gentlemen Prefer Curves

Synopsis from Goodreads

Ellis Garrett is dumping her critical boyfriend, opening a plus-size clothing store, and starting a blog—all to spread the word that fashion shouldn’t require a size-two body, and happiness should allow for the occasional cupcake. Or two. But is indulging fantasies about her sister’s long-ago ex, the still-hunky Michael Edwards, biting off more than she can chew?

Mike must be losing his detective’s touch. He doesn’t recognize Ellis when he bumps into her at Size Me Up, and he certainly doesn’t remember his ex-girlfriend’s outspoken sister being so irresistible. Her curves are indeed dangerous—and so is her wit. Could it be that Ellis is his Perfect Fit? One thing’s for sure: Mike will make it his sworn duty to find out…

What I Thought

I picked this book up because I saw the second one on Netgalley and really wanted to try it out, since they were part of a series. I’m pretty sure they’re connect but with different characters narrating, but I’ll find out when I read the next book.

If you’re a curvy girl, wouldn’t you love to read a romance about another such girl who runs her own clothing store and blog? That’s what drew me to this series. Almost every other girl in every book is thin, and being a bit curvy myself it was a nice change of pace. I actually connected pretty well with Ellis, although her sharp tongue and the way she speaks her mind is totally different than my shyness. She was a bit harsh at times, but she was hurt badly from her last boyfriend.

This book was a lot of fun! So many times the bantering between Ellis and Mike was so funny and I was randomly laughing out loud. Other moments their heated exchanges got a bit out of hand, but I still kept reading because I wanted to know if they would stay together. Both of them seemed like they weren’t looking for anything permanent, but those things can always change fast and I kept hoping. There was also a few emotional moments that made me cry, and a bunch of steamy sexy scenes.

The supporting characters were great. Cherri and Belinda were good friends and Colin was a pretty funny guy and Irish! I also loved her parents, especially Walter. He different but he really loves his daughter, and he had a bunch of funny moments himself.

I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book but I really enjoyed it, and I’m definitely going to continue reading the rest of the series as it releases.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

11 comments on “Review: Dangerous Curves Ahead by Sugar Jamison

  1. Sometimes it’s nice to have a change from the thin, beautiful-but-doesn’t-know-it heroines that seem so popular. Everybody deserves to fall in love and have a steamy relationship, regardless of body type!

  2. Great review! You had my attention at the title of the book and I love the thought of a main character actually being on the curvy side of things. Too many times you read about characters that are stick thin but staked in the upper area. That’s nice and all, but it’s fun to have characters that actually remind you of real women. 😀 I’m glad you really enjoyed this and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on book 2.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

