Review: This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready

this side of salvation

Title: This Side of Salvation
Author: Jeri Smith-Ready
Release Date/Publisher: April 1st 2014 by Simon Pulse
Finished: February 10th 2014
Pages: 384 pages-ARC paperback-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads

Everyone mourns differently. When his older brother was killed, David got angry. As in, fist-meets-someone-else’s-face furious. But his parents? They got religious. David’s still figuring out his relationship with a higher power, but there’s one thing he does know for sure: The closer he gets to new-girl Bailey, the better, brighter, happier, more he feels.

Then his parents start cutting all their worldly ties in to prepare for the Rush, the divine moment when the faithful will be whisked off to Heaven…and they want David to do the same. David’s torn. There’s a big difference between living in the moment and giving up his best friend, varsity baseball, and Bailey—especially Bailey—in hope of salvation.

But when he comes home late from prom, and late for the Rush, to find that his parents have vanished, David is in more trouble than he ever could have imagined…

What I Thought

I received an advanced copy of this from Simon and Schuster Canada for review. Thank you! 

I loved another series by this author, so when I was given the chance to review this I knew I had to give it a try. It doesn’t seem like something I would have picked up but I have to say it was pretty good.

I know there’s always different opinions when religion comes strong into books, but I didn’t feel like I was being preached to. Instead I felt like I was along for the journey of David’s transitioning family and all that happens to lead up to the Rush.

After John dies they grieve a lot, and his parents have trouble moving on so they turn to religion. It seems like it spirals out of control at times and his parents are horrible people. Especially when Sophia comes into the picture. I wanted to punch her. But when you read further into it you see things a bit differently, especially for their father.

I didn’t really have trouble with David, he was a good guy who loved sports and his girlfriend Bailey and I enjoyed his story. He seemed like he was trying to do right and although he had faith he still asked questions and didn’t knock anyone down. Sometimes the baseball talk got to be a bit much, especially when he has a game or it goes into a lot of details, but then again I don’t usually pay much attention to sports. I commend the author for having the detail, it just didn’t interest me. All the characters were nice but I didn’t find them popping out like in some other books, so they weren’t as memorable.

I did enjoy reading this book, and the way the chapters changed from past to present to show how everything ties in was really good. It kept me wanting to keep reading to find out how everything happened and how things would end. I would suggest giving this a try even if you’re not sure you’d like it since it does have a well written story.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready

  1. At first I was like ‘uhoh religion’ because that is one topic I try to steer clear from for the most part, but then I read ‘his parents have vanished’ and thought ‘I might have to read this’ lol I am certainly intrigued.

  2. I am glad you liked this one. I have seen the cover around and I became interested in it because of that.

    I am always weary of book that are heavy on religion but by the looks of it this one doesn’t sound preachy. The fact that it jumps back and forth and ties in together well makes it very promising! I have read a lot of books where the jump from past present was nauseating to read!

    Great review 🙂 xx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    • I liked the cover too, it almost looks relaxing eh.

      I didn’t feel preached to at all, which was great. I was worried about that when I started it. You should check it out and let me know what you think!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

