Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

sea of shadows

Title: Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends #1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Release Date/Publisher: April 8th 2014 by HarperCollins
Finished: January 9th 2014
Pages: 416-ARC eBook-review from Edelweiss
Series:
1. Sea of Shadows
2. Unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads

In the Forest of the Dead, where the empire’s worst criminals are exiled, twin sisters Moria and Ashyn are charged with a dangerous task. For they are the Keeper and the Seeker, and each year they must quiet the enraged souls of the damned.

Only this year, the souls will not be quieted.

Ambushed and separated by an ancient evil, the sisters’ journey to find each other sends them far from the only home they’ve ever known. Accompanied by a stubborn imperial guard and a dashing condemned thief, the girls cross a once-empty wasteland, now filled with reawakened monsters of legend, as they travel to warn the emperor. But a terrible secret awaits them at court—one that will alter the balance of their world forever.

What I Thought

I received an advanced copy of this online for review.

I am so used to Kelley’s paranormal series’ that this one took me a little getting used to. I’m so glad she wanted to explore a different genre and try it out though. I did like this book and I’m excited to keep reading the series.

However there were only a few little things that kept the rating lower. The beginning part was a bit slow for me. I guess when I go into fantasy I want the good stuff to start early, but I understand that in a new series the main plot needs to be built. I also wish the description of the Seeker and Keeper were a bit more clear at the beginning, but ultimately after a while I understood what they were and their duties. This could be different in the final print version, but I’m not sure since it’s not out as I write this.

I loved the idea behind twins being born with the power to hear the spirits, and of course the big hound and wildcat that accompanied them. I so want a big wildcat now, like Daigo. There were also mythical monsters and shadows and all sorts of dark things as the story got going. The reason why certain things were happening confused me a bit at first and I kept wondering what was going on, but it made more sense near the end of the book.

The characters were enjoyable, I liked both Moria and Ashyn and their guy friends too. There’s just a touch of possible romance in the background, but his book really focuses on the mission at hand for the sisters more than anything which was a good balance.

I think it’s a good start to a new fantasy series, and I will definitely be reading the following installments to see what happens.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

  1. This genuinely looks really good! I have The Summoning which I will pick up soon.
    I know she is supposed to be one of the big guns when it comes to female authors and paranormal reads!

    I like the concept of keeper and seeker, the whole silencing enraged souls sounds riveting and creepy. I also like that the romance is in the background and not the main part of the whole fantasy saga.

    Thanks for sharing, I am gonna have tp check this out 🙂 xxx

    • I love this author so I hope you do read some of her stuff. I have to re-read all of her other YA stuff this spring, but I remember them being very good.
      I hope you like it! 🙂

  2. It can be tricky when a beloved author switches genres…so I can see it taking a bit to get used to the switch. I’m glad you enjoyed this one despite that, I’m a Kelley Armstrong fan too so naturally I requested this one…but haven’t gotten around to it yet. The characters sound right up my alley and the plot sounds awesome once it gets going. Wonderful review Kelsey ^^ and glad to hear you’ll be moving forwards with the series!!

    • I was worried the genre switch would have been too much, but it’s definitely worth a read and I’m so glad she’s branching out! And I’m glad you’re a fan of her books! I think you will like it, but let me know your thoughts when you finish it. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

