Question: ARCs and Recommendations

Question

This week I’m going to ask two questions, and you can answer one or both. I’m not going to answer it myself like I usually do, because I want your opinions.

 

#1: What do you do with ARCs after you’ve read them? Keep them, share with bloggers, or something else?

#2: Is there a book that you think I should read? I’m taking suggestions on Adult and YA! If you’re unsure can you leave one of your favourites in the comments?

Leave your answer(s) below!

8 comments on “Question: ARCs and Recommendations

  1. For me it depends on the ARC and if I loved the book. If I loved it, I will most likely buy a finished copy, so I use the ARC as a giveaway. If the book was just ok for me, I might keep the ARC seeing as I might not get the finished copy or I might give it away. If I just didn’t like it, I will give it away. As for a book recommendation, have you read The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. It is fantastic.

  2. It depends. If it is in Ebook format I keep it on the Kindle and then if I really enjoyed it, I will try to buy it. I pass on paper arc to friends. I have seen people selling them which is a huge no no for mee!!

    I have just read Siege by Sara Mussi. That was really good! Also, We Were Lairs by E. Lockheart. It comes out in may but it is on Netgalley from Random House I think. It is just over 250 pages so not too long. It is absolutely amazing! The Newsflesh Trilogy by Mira Grant is good too. It is zombie/political thriller. One of my favourite series!

    Have a great week and enjoy all the recommendations you receive! 🙂 xx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  3. Usually I just get ebook arcs, so I just archive them on my kindle app on my phone. On the rare occasion that I get a paperback, I’ll either keep it or give it away and get a finished copy! Have you read Prophecy Girl or The Promise of Amazing? Or any of these?:
    School Spirits
    Splintered
    The summer I became a Nerd
    Where You’ll Find Me
    Wild Cards

    Have a great week! (:

    Gabbie

  4. I usually hang on to ARCs for at least a few months, but when I notice that I’m not planning on rereading them ever they go on top of the to-give-away-pile.

    As for a recommendation, I can’t think of anything at the moment. 2014 has yet to bring me a 5 star read.. (:

  5. ARC-wise, I’m so new at this that I’ve only gotten eARCs so far, so no sharing. As for recs, I stalked your GR shelves, and I suggest Cinda Williams Chima’s Seven Realms series, if you’re in the mood for fantasy (it’s a four book, completed series, and we seem to have similar taste in fantasy books, so I’m thinking you’ll love it, like I did), and if you’re in the mood for something more adult UF, I recommend Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews (to EVERYONE). You liked The Women of the Otherworld, so I think you’ll like this too. Kate and Elena are two of my favorite UF MCs.

    Jessica @ Rabid Reads

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

