Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To all the boys ive loved before

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Release Date/Publisher: April 15th 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Finished: January 30th 2014
Pages: 368-ARC given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads

Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

What I Thought

A big thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for sending me this to review!

I don’t know if you can tell from the above picture, but the wording for the title looks like it was written with a real sharpie marker! Props to the design department. The cover also suits the book perfectly.

This book was so much fun and so cute! It really had me giggling a lot of the time and it was hard putting it down. Lara Jean is the kind of girl that’s sweet but she also speaks her mind when it comes to certain things. She really values family, especially her sisters, which was a great thing to see. She’s not like every other high school girl who parties and wants to be popular.

So when her letters get mailed out by someone (we find out at the end who), it’s almost as if the world has ended. Two boys play a bigger part out of the five that are sent, and that’s Josh and Peter. Josh seemed more like an older brother, and he has his own drama going on at the beginning. Peter is the kind of jock that everyone likes and all the girls fall for. Lara Jean’s interactions with Peter are the best, and I really thought they were cute together. The way she argues with Peter in the book was funny and I couldn’t get enough.

There were a few times where it’s not all laughs, but serious moments too. Near the end a few of these made me cry, and I was totally not expecting that. I figured this book would be just a quick read and that I’d enjoy it enough, but I really loved it. It did go by fast, but in a memorable way. When the ending came I wanted more, but I think it was well done.

If you already have read stuff by this author (I’ve read her co-written Burn for Burn) then I think you’ll like this one too. It’s a cute and funny read with bits of drama sprinkled in.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

    • It really was interesting, the whole idea of it captured me and I’m so glad I read it. Hopefully you can give it a try and let me know what you think.

  1. This is a book that I have started to see around quite a lot. I am a huge fan of contemporaries a lately.

    I love the whole concept of the deepest thoughts just getting out and there is nothing you can do about it.

    This seems like a really light read, but I am surprised that some parts of the book made you cry and it seems a lot deeper than I thought.

    This novel sounds great so I am gonna have to check it out.

    Thanks for sharing, great review and have a great weekend! 🙂 xxx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    • A lot of it surprised me, especially the crying, but it was so good and I think it will definitely be one of the summer contemporaries that people love.
      I hope you do check it out, and have a good weekend too!

  2. This sounds AMAZING! I’ve been curious about the boys’ reaction and it’s good to know that the focus is more on two and not all five boys. I’ll have to remember to get this one when it’s released next week. Thanks for sharing!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

