Review: The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer

inventors secret

Title: The Inventor’s Secret (The Inventor’s Secret #1)
Author: Andrea Cremer
Release Date/Publisher: April 22nd 2014 by Philomel
Finished: January 3rd 2014
Pages: 368-ARC-given for review
Series:
1. The Inventor’s Secret
2. To come

Synopsis from Goodreads

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery.

What I Thought

A big thank you to Razorbill for sending me a copy of this! The cover I have on mine was different than the one above it’s releasing with, but I like both actually. Mine has a steampunk looking heart on it but the one above ties in just a bit better.

I’ve never read anything else by this author but I did enjoy this new series by her. The story of what would happen if the Revolutionary war was won by Britain was really interesting and I liked the take she took on it, even though it sounded like a scary time to live in. Who wouldn’t be scared of big machines capturing people for labour? The steampunk element was cool and I loved some of the inventions talked about. The tonics one character created were pretty funny.

The part that I wasn’t expecting was them infiltrating the New York and acting like citizens there, such as Charlotte being a lady. I figured the rest of the book might have been different but I still really enjoyed it actually. The little romance budding was cute, but I also would have liked more of a presence from the Resistance. I also thought Grave would play a bigger part in this book but he was mostly on the backburner until closer to the end of the book. He seems like he’s going to be much more important in the next book though.

This was a good start to a new series that I definitely want to continue reading!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

8 comments on “Review: The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer

  1. This is a book that I have been seeing around a lot. I am glad you liked it so much!

    I have not read anything by this author so I might take a look at this one. The whole infiltrating New York and the romance is really appealing.

    Thanks for sharing and great review! 😀

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  2. I’ve seen this one around and I’m very intrigued by it. I’m always interested in Steampunk stories and this one sounds like a fresh addition to the genre. I’ve never read anything by Andrea Creamer either but I have a few of her books on my tbr. The inventions talked about sound especially cool as does the alternate twist on history. Thanks for the lovely review Kelsey ^^

  3. Ah I do love me some steampunk, I might have to check this one out 🙂 I’ve read a couple of awful steampunk novels lately, need something to take the edge off lol

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

