Review: After the End by Amy Plum

after the end

Title: After the End (After the End #1)
AuthorAmy Plum
Release Date/Publisher: May 6th 2014 by HarperTeen
Finished: March 14th 2014
Pages: 336-ARC eBook-got from Edelweiss
Series:
1. After the End
2. Unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads:

“I have no idea what is truth and what is fiction. I’m all I’ve got now. I can’t trust anyone.”

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she’s trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.

What I Thought:

I received a copy to review from Edelweiss.

Going into this I loved the idea of her and her clan living in their own little area, away from an apocalyptic world. But the fact that she eventually goes out into the modern world worried me. I thought I wouldn’t like it, but thankfully I did. It was integrated in a way that the modern settings didn’t take over too much, and I really enjoyed it.

Juneau was a great female character. I really liked that she stuck to her roots and her mission as much as possible after finding out certain lies. Her ability to survive in nature was awesome, and much needed as her and Miles traveled. She tried her best to stay mature and even though she could have been overwhelmed with modern things, she took it more as a challenge to learn more instead of freak out.

There’s a lot of travelling and danger that they have to watch out for which kept the pace fast and enjoyable. Added to this is a type of magic, but it’s more a connection to the earth and environment that Juneau can use to help with certain small things. I really liked that addition, and it almost seemed like something similar could be real.

This book is not exactly paranormal, dystopian, or post-apocalyptic. I would honestly say it’s more an adventure and modern day fantasy book. I definitely recommend this.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: After the End by Amy Plum

  1. I can’t wait to get into my copy for this one! I love the sound of all the travelling and adventures to be had but I didn’t know there was magic! I’m ALWAYS up for magic 😀 And the simplicity of it sounds fresh too! Awesome review Kelsey ^^

  2. I am a huge fan of Amy Plum’s books, I read the Die For Me series that she wrote so I want to pick this one up soon. I can see where you are coming from with the initial worry about her going out in to the world. It could have gone one way or another and I am glad you liked the way it went!

    I really like the sound of this, especially it not being specific to one genre and being classed as an adventure for you! 🙂

    Great review my dear! Your review style is so to the point and shorter than most, I love it! I need to take a leaf out of your book! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  3. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this one. I’m not really sure if it’s going to be a book for me. But it does sound very interesting!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

