Review: Buzz Kill by Beth Fantaskey

buzz kill

Title: Buzz Kill
AuthorBeth Fantaskey
Release Date/Publisher: May 6th 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Finished: March 16th 2014
Pages: 368-ARC Paperback-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this fresh and funny teen mystery, seventeen-year-old Millie joins forces with her classmate, gorgeous but mysterious Chase Albright, to try to find out who murdered Coach Killdare.

Putting the dead in deadline
To Bee or not to Bee? When the widely disliked Honeywell Stingers football coach is found murdered, 17-year-old Millie is determined to investigate. She is chasing a lead for the school newspaper – and looking to clear her father, the assistant coach, and prime suspect.

Millie’s partner is gorgeous, smart-and keeping secrets
Millie joins forces with her mysterious classmate Chase who seems to want to help her even while covering up secrets of his own.

She’s starting to get a reputation…without any of the benefits.
Drama-and bodies-pile up around Millie and she chases clues, snuggles Baxter the so-ugly-he’s-adorable bassett hound, and storms out of the world’s most awkward school dance/memorial mash-up. At least she gets to eat a lot of pie.

Best-selling author Beth Fantaskey’s funny, fast-paced blend of Clueless and Nancy Drew is a suspenseful page-turner that is the best time a reader can have with buried weapons, chicken clocks, and a boy who only watches gloomy movies…but somehow makes Millie smile. Bee-lieve it.

What I Thought:

A big thank you to Thomas Allen & Son for sending me an advanced copy!

I have to admit that when I saw the bright yellow cover, I was wondering whether it would be something I wanted to read. I’m guilty of cover judging, but I’m so glad I read this book. It was a murder mystery, but so much fun to read! The cover I have is different than the (possible) final version above, but it’s still bright yellow. I actually kind of like mine better, but they’re both good.

buzzkill

Here’s my version of the cover.

In any case I’m not usually one to like mysteries but they’re something I’m trying to get more into though. Thankfully I enjoyed this book so much that I do want to try reading them more. Not the intense ones, but some that have a lighter feel to them to start.

Millie is the kind of girl that wants to get to the bottom of things, and isn’t always afraid to say what she’s thinking. Nancy Drew books are her inspiration, and because she’s on the school newspaper she wants to write the best story about who murdered the coach. I liked Chase, the quarterback who Millie keeps getting closer to. He’s not a normal jock and I think he added that little extra something in this that made me like the book more.

The murder mystery was actually pretty good too. It’s not like a corny one where a girl in high school wants to solve something and she’s an airhead and nothing really gets done and things magically work out. Millie actually gets clues and finds a bunch of things out even when she has to push farther than other people might go. Even though there’s some laughs and fun had in this, there’s also a bunch of serious moments that make it seem that more real too.

If you’re looking for a fun but good mystery, then go get a copy of this book. The bright yellow might actually brighten your day as you read too!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Buzz Kill by Beth Fantaskey

  1. That yellow cover doesn’t really do much for me either. However, the mystery sounds like it was well done, and the ARC doesn’t look quite as bright as the final version. LOL Happy Friday! 🙂

    • I kind of wished that they stuck with the cover from the ARC as well, the added red in the final version isn’t that nice. Thanks, have a good weekend! 🙂

  2. What an odd cover change. The book does sound really promising though. Especially for those who love mysteries 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

