Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

since youve been gone

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone
AuthorMorgan Matson
Release Date/Publisher: May 6th 2014 by Simon & Schuster
Finished: March 22nd 2014
Pages: 464-ARC paperback-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait… what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um..

What I Thought:

This was actually such a good story! Emily is the shy kind of girl who doesn’t really go for anything unless her best friend Sloane is there. She’s more than happy just to sit back and participate in things. Sloane disappears during the summer, and Emily is completely lost. Then in comes a letter with a list of things Emily has to do. She believes doing everything on there will reunite the two girls again.

I really loved Emily as a character, and I can understand her shyness when the book begins. But I also love how she changes and grows more confident as the book goes on and she completes pieces of the list. She even gains new friends, including Frank who seems like he would be great for her. Some of the items on the list, I know I probably wouldn’t be able to do them, but it was so awesome seeing her just go for some of them! A few were pretty funny as well.

There are pieces of chapters that go back in time to when Sloane was there which I really liked. My version had a changed font for this, but it might be different in final publication, I don’t know. I actually liked the change though.

There’s also music! Emily runs and has playlists that change throughout the book, and it was cool to see them mentioned. I recognized a few artists, but will definitely be checking out more of them too.

This is one of those books that I think a lot of people would enjoy reading, and I just had so much fun with it. Go get a copy!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

10 comments on “Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

  1. I’ve been looking forward to the next Morgan Matson book ever since I read Second Chance Summer. So glad to hear that this one is fabulous too 😉

  2. I loved this one, too! I was worried since I loved Morgan’s other two books and was convinced this one wouldn’t be as good, but it really was! And I loved Frank … all of the friends Emily made were great! I’m glad you liked it!

  3. Not very often that you give out 5 stars! This must be good. I am glad you liked this one so much, I am buying this one when it comes in the UK in July.

    I really liked Morgan Matson’s other books. I have just finished Second Chance Summer and it was beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing my dear & great review! 🙂 xxx

    • Very true, but this one deserved it! 🙂 Nice, I really hope you like it when you get a copy. I’m now planning to read Second Chance Summer this summer lol.
      Thank you!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

