Review: Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

biggest flirts

Title: Biggest Flirts (Superlatives #1)
AuthorJennifer Echols 
Release Date/Publisher: May 20th by Simon Pulse
Finished: April 12th 2014
Pages: 336-ARC paperback-given for review
Series:
1. Biggest Flirts
2. Perfect Couple
3. Most Likely to Succeed

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Tia and Will’s lives get flipped upside down when they’re voted Yearbook’s Biggest Flirts in this sassy novel from the author of Endless Summer and The One That I Want.

Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger. 

As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated…

What I Thought:

Thank you Simon and Schuster Canada for sending me a copy to review!

I’ve read one other book by this author, but I remember really enjoying it. This book of hers is a little different, but again I really enjoyed it. I’m kind of glad she’s making it a series, because from what I can tell the next two books are about the two friends of Tia’s mentioned in this book. We don’t get to see them too much, but I definitely want to know more about them. Also random, but the models on the cover are nothing like I imagine them to look like, especially after descriptions inside the book.

Tia is the kind of girl who just wants to hook up, and not have a relationship or commit to anything in life really. She doesn’t want responsibility. But she has reasons for the way she acts. I assumed at first she was just going to be a girl who couldn’t care about anything and does whatever she wants, but it seemed like she did care but didn’t want to give in to it, that she didn’t do anything for fear of screwing it up. Her family is also part of the reason she doesn’t want a relationship, and you get to find out more as the story goes on.

When Will comes to town she starts to change a bit, and wants to be around him which is unusual for her. She has a reputation for being a slacker too, but she’s actually really smart if she puts her mind to it. I liked that her character had some depth to it and I had fun reading about her.

Now before reading this, it’s not your typical romance. Sometimes things that happened between them frustrated me, but it was expected based on her character. In the end everything isn’t all sunshine and rainbows, but I did think it was a perfect fit for the book, and I think we will see more of these two mentioned in the series later.

I really enjoyed reading this, and although it’s a mix up of the typical high school romance I think a lot of people would like it. It’s a good contemporary for the summer, and if you love this author’s older work you need to read this.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

8 comments on “Review: Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

  1. Another great contemporary!

    I really like the sound of this one not being your typical YA romance. I think sometimes when it gets too soppy and immature it gets so annoying! :’)

    I know there was a lot of hype surrounding all of her other books and I will have to check them all out at some point!

    Thanks for sharing & great review! 🙂

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  2. Oh, I’m so glad you did this review, because I’ve heard bad things about this book but now I need to read it haha I love this contemporary books that come out in spring/summer time, they’re such fun reads. Great review 😉

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

