Review: Thrown for a Curve by Sugar Jamison

thrown for a curve

Title: Thrown for a Curve (Perfect Fit #2)
AuthorSugar Jamison
Release Date/Publisher: February 25th 2014 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
Finished: march 26th 2014
Pages: 336-eBook ARC-NetGalley
Series:
1. Dangerous Curves Ahead
2. Thrown for a Curve
3. Gentlemen Prefer Curves

Synopsis from Goodreads:

WHEN YOU’RE A big girl

Cherri has often wished she were thin and graceful like a ballerina instead of being a six-foot-tall blonde with curves that require serious caution. Surely a charming Irishman like her new boss Colin, with his throaty brogue and to-die-for bod, would never go for someone like Cherri. Unless maybe he’s looking for the exact opposite of a delicate lass?

there’s more of you to love

When Colin hired Cherri to work in his furniture-restoration shop, he had his eyes, first and foremost, on her artistic talents. But now he can’t help but see Cherri for the lush, spirited beauty that she is…and, soon enough, he finds himself mixing business with pleasure. But Cherri turns out to be more vulnerable than she appears. Is she in need of more than Colin can give? Or could it be that a feeling stronger than lust has him thrown for a curve?

What I Thought:

After reading and loving the first book I was so looking forward to this. A big part of the story I was not expecting and I wasn’t sure if I really enjoyed it at first. Two parts just totally came out of nowhere, and I know that kind of thing happens in real life, but I just didn’t think the book would go in that direction. I thought it would be more like the first book, with me smiling and laughing at things. This was kind of the opposite almost.

I loved the idea behind this book that she was tall and curvy, and that Colin, an Irishman, started to like her. They had a lot of problems and issues through most of the book though, so it wasn’t all tender love and romance. I sometimes wished that they would just talk things out, so it wouldn’t get worse. A few scenes actually made me cry, and if you read this you’ll know the big one.

I think one reason I didn’t enjoy this one as much was mostly all the sadness that they both go through and not admitting how they feel. Certain things were happy, but not like the first book made me feel. I have to admit that I did sit there all day reading this, but I wanted to come away from it a little different. I understand that all books aren’t sunshine and rainbows, but I assumed it would be closer to the first.

Don’t get me wrong, it is a good book, but the first is for sure my favourite out of the two. If you’ve read the first and like this series, I suggest you give this one a try. I’m still excited to read the next book in this series though!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

