Review: Living with the Dead by Kelley Armstrong

living with the dead

Title: Living with the Dead (Women of the Otherworld #9)
AuthorKelley Armstrong
Release Date/Publisher: August 25th 2009 by Vintage Canada
Finished: March 20th 2014
Pages: 464-Paperback-borrowed/owned
Series:
1. Bitten
2. Stolen
3. Dime Store Magic
4. Industrial Magic
5. Haunted
6. Broken
7. No Humans Involved
8. Personal Demon
9. Living with the Dead
10. Frostbitten
11. Waking the Witch
12. Spell Bound
13. Thirteen

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The men and women of the Otherworld – witches, werewolves, demons, vampires – live unseen among us. Only now a reckless killer has torn down the wall, trapping one very human woman in the supernatural crossfire.

Robyn moved to LA after her husband died to try to put some distance between herself and the life they had together. And the challenges of her job as the PR consultant to a Paris Hilton wannabe are pretty distracting. But then her celebutante is gunned down in a night club, and Robyn is suddenly the prime suspect. The two people most determined to clear her are her old friend, the half-demon tabloid reporter Hope Adams, and a homicide detective with an uncanny affinity for the dead.

Soon Robyn finds herself in the heart of a world she never even knew existed – and which she was safer knowing nothing about . . .

What I Thought:

I borrowed this version of the cover from my friend, since there was a problem with my own copy. It’s an older version too.

If you read my review of the last book, you’d know that Hope is my least favourite character in the series so far. She’s in this book again, but with a twist of fate so is her human friend. Robyn and Hope have been friends for a while but Hope hasn’t told her anything about what she is. Then Robyn gets involved with a murder and supernaturals just keep popping up, and she’s pretty oblivious.

I actually liked Hope a lot better in this one, even the story was better. She starts to try and control her power more and realize it’s a part of her, but I think her power is still the least exciting of the other characters. Karl is in this one too, and I think they make a great couple together, even though they have a few small issues. But the focus of this book is really on trying to help Robyn and find the real killer. Which then invites another supernatural race that we don’t really see much until now in the series. Getting to see inside the head of a few of the “bad guys” was great too.

I really liked the addition of a regular human as a main character, as well as the whole adventure of trying to keep her safe while other people are out to get her. There’s even some more Cabals that play a small part in this, in case you missed them. While not my favourite book, this is a great addition to the series. I think it gives a good perspective of what the supernatural look like to someone who’s just plain human.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

8 comments on “Review: Living with the Dead by Kelley Armstrong

    • I want to punch Adele in the face so much during this! It does kind of stand out, but I also kind of liked that it added a human person to the mix 🙂

    • I had trouble with the witch books when I first went into it, but a complete series re-read has helped me like some books way more than I did the first time I read them. If you do try again, I hope you like them!

  1. Yeah, this was NOT my favorite Women of the Otherworld book at ALL. Adele made my list of villains-I-most-want-to-kick-in-the-teeth, right up there with Dolores Umbridge. Such a wretched, selfish girl–spiking her friend’s coffee . . . can’t even think about her more deviant manipulation tactics without getting totally creeped out (like now). BOO. Isn’t the next one Frostbitten? WAY better.

    • Oh I hate Umbridge, but since this was a re-read I knew what happens to Adele so it wasn’t as bad. I actually like another book in this series less, and I liked the idea of her branching out with a human. 🙂
      Yeah Frostbitten is next, so excited to get to it!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

