Review: Say Her Name by James Dawson

say her name

Title: Say Her Name
AuthorJames Dawson
Release Date/Publisher: June 5th 2014 by Hot Key Books
Finished: March 25th 2014
Pages: 240-ARC paperback-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of ‘Bloody Mary’: say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear… But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror… five days… but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before… A truly spine-chilling yet witty horror from shortlisted ‘Queen of Teen’ author James Dawson.

What I Thought:

A big thank you to Razorbill Canada for sending me a copy of this!

To be honest, I could not read this before bed. The one time I tried I ended up having nightmares. This book involves a certain infamous ghost, and she is creepy. She randomly appears during this, playing tricks and scaring the crap out of people who say her name 5 times in Piper Hall, the all girls school.

One particular scene involving a window creeped me out the most, especially since I was sitting right beside one and it was dark out. If you know me, you know that ghost books in general tend to creep me out quite a bit. This one seemed to be written in just a way that I wanted to turn on all the lights when I got up at night. Some people may or may not be scared by it, but it definitely worked on me.

Bobbie was pretty decent, I liked how she tried to solve this as if it was a mystery. Whether that helped or not I won’t tell you. Aside from that she was just ok. Caine seemed like a decent guy in this, but I didn’t really get to know Naya much. She was supposed to be the best friend who also did the curse, but I felt like I barely knew her and there’s quite a few adventure scenes that she’s lacking in. I think a little more of a back-story would have been nice for these characters.

Then again if you’re just looking for something scary and don’t care about character development too much, you should still read this. Maybe with a lamp nearby, just in case. It would be perfect for around Halloween too!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Say Her Name by James Dawson

  1. I love the look of this! I have another James Dawson book on my TBR and I will probably pick this one up!

    I love scary books, I have not read a good one in a while! This one seems so good. I like the fact (not in a sadistic way! :’) that you could not read this one before bed! It shows how good of a horror it is! 🙂

    I am glad you like this one, I will be sure to check this one out! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! 😀 xx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    • I think you’ll like this if you like scary, but then again everyone’s tolerance for that is different.
      I hope it scares you as much as it did me! 😀

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

