Review: (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

dont you forget about me

Title: (Don’t You) Forget About Me
Author: Kate Karyus Quinn
Release Date/Publisher: June 10th 2014 by HarperTeen
Finished: May 3rd 2014
Pages: 352-ARC eBook-to review from Edelweiss

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Welcome to Gardnerville.

A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies.

Except…
There’s a price to pay for paradise. Every fourth year, the strange power that fuels the town exacts its payment by infecting teens with deadly urges. In a normal year in Gardnerville, teens might stop talking to their best friends. In a fourth year, they’d kill them.

Four years ago, Skylar’s sister, Piper, was locked away after leading sixteen of her classmates to a watery grave. Since then, Skylar has lived in a numb haze, struggling to forget her past and dull the pain of losing her sister. But the secrets and memories Piper left behind keep taunting Skylar—whispering that the only way to get her sister back is to stop Gardnerville’s murderous cycle once and for all.

What I Thought:

I was approved to read an advanced copy of this from Edelweiss.

Every time I think of this title it reminds me of the song and I can’t help from singing it. It suits the book since all the flashback chapters have names from songs, and they actually tie into the story. The flashbacks were really interesting as they helped develop the story and we get to see more of the sisters and their adventures and what happened in Gardnerville. We also find out how the town was created later on, among many other secrets and awesome things. Some of the stuff that happened in fourth years was a bit messed up. I don’t think I’d be able to stay there.

I felt like sometimes this story was messing with my mind, and I’m not fully sure why. She would take these forget-me-not pills that made her forget everything and pretty much stay in a drug induced haze, but between them things were happening and she was trying to figure it out and what to do. She had to piece events together, but it made you wonder if it was really happening as she remembered it or if something else was going on. I felt confused a few times but also that I was trying to solve the big part of the story, thinking that I would know what was coming but I totally didn’t.

This might not be a book that everyone loves or will have the drive to read, but I’m glad I stuck with it. A few times I almost wanted to stop reading and go onto something else, but I wanted continue this in case I couldn’t pick it back up. The ending and the overall final story was really good and if this sounds interesting to you I highly suggest you read it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

  1. I have the author’s other book (which i heard good things about) but I haven’t read it but I do love the premise of both of her books since they sounds really different. I do like stories that mess with your mind so this book is definitely for me lol

    I do agree that the book reminds me of the song, every time I read the title for this the song gets stuck on my head! Awesome review 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

