Review: Pride by Rachel Vincent

pride

Title: Pride (Shifters #3)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Release Date/Publisher: April 1st 2010 by Mira Books
(first published February 1st 2009)
Finished: May 1st 2014
Pages: 432-eBook-owned
Series:
1. Stray
2. Rogue
3. Pride
4. Prey
5. Shift
6. Alpha

Synopsis from Goodreads

I’m on trial for my life. Falsely accused of infecting my human ex-boyfriend–and killing him to cover up the crime. Infecting a human is one of three capital offenses recognized by the Pride–along with murder and disclosure of our existence to a human.

I’m two for three. A goner.

Now we’ve discovered a rogue stray terrorizing the mountainside, hunting a wild teenage tabbycat. It’s up to us to find and stop him before a human discovers us. With my lover Marc’s help, I “think” I can protect the vulnerable girl from both the ambitious rogue and the scheming of the territorial council.

“If” I survive my own trial…

What I Thought

Every book I read in this series gets even better than the one before. So far I’ve enjoyed myself with this one the most, and at this rate I have a feeling I will absolutely love the rest of the series.

Faythe is standing trial for things that happened in the last book, which are pretty serious. Most of the time it seems unfair how they’re treating her and the fact that she’s guilty until proven innocent really sucks. One certain Alpha is the worst and I really just wanted to punch him. She still has her attitude and is trying to stick up for herself, and even though she could probably break down crying, she really keeps it together.

Then things get even more awesome with the introduction of a bunch of strays that are in the forest behind their cabins (that they’re staying at just for the trial). We get to meet another kind of shifting creature, the Bruin, and I hope we get to see more too as the series goes on. But one certain cat they meet is actually another girl and they have to find out where she came from, who she is, and still get the strays that are in the forest out of there. The truth of everything which you find out at the end is really good too.

There’s a lot more politics when it comes to the Alphas and their councils in this, but I liked the added insight and seeing how things worked for their society. There’s still action and lots of shifting and of course some romance. I really liked the tabby (wont’t name her to keep it a surprise) and thought that Faythe did a really good job of connecting with her.

This series is really good so far and if you’ve started reading and are unsure if you should continue, definitely do. I’m so happy I started this, and since all the books have been released there’s no wait!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

