Review: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

assasins blade

Title: The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date/Publisher: March 4th 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Chrildrens
Finished: May 7th 2014
Pages: 464-Hardcover-owned
Series:
0.1 to 0.5- The Assassin’s Blade
1. Throne of Glass
2. Crown of Midnight
3. Heir of Fire
4. Queen of Shadows
5.Untitled
6. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, she’s sworn to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.

In these action-packed prequel novellas to Throne of Glass, Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and avenge tyranny. But by acting on her own terms, will Celaena truly free herself from her master, or will she suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery?

This bind-up features all five e-novellas, available in print for the first time!

What I Thought:

There are 5 novellas in this book that are all a prequel to Throne of Glass. This is meant to be read before the other books, but if you’re already caught up to the series, it just adds a bit of insight I think. If you’ve already read the eBook novellas that are separate, there’s an added one in this that’s not available elsewhere. It’s the last one, and it was

Instead of reviewing all five novellas separately, I’m going to give my overall opinion on the book. If you’ve read my reviews of other books in this series you will know that I loved them. So much. Well I loved this book too.

It really gives more of a in-depth look at Celaena before the events of the first book, how she was before everything changed. Her adventures were so fun and awesome, and of course there’s lots of action and her fighting. She also does some good along the way though, which I would not have expected going into this. And of course we get to explore more of that land that’s on the maps in all the books.

If you’re looking to expand your knowledge and love of this series, definitely pick this one up. The stories, although short, are worth it. If you’re new to this series, grab a copy and see what you think, but maybe have the next book handy just in case.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

10 comments on “Review: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I am caught up on the series but I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I will be reading it soon. I really like that it adds insight to the series and that there is a bind up of them. I think novellas are a tricky bag as they have to have enough to make people want them but not too much to make it unfair to people who can’t or don’t like short stories! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing & great review! I will be reading this in the summer to tide me over until Heir of Fire comes out! 🙂

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  2. I LOVE these, and I don’t know if you’ve read Heir of Fire yet, but when you do (if you already have?), you’ll see that these prequels ARE important. I keep telling everyone who’s thinking of checking out this series to read this book. SO glad you love it too 😉

    Jessica @ Rabid Reads

    • I haven’t read it yet, I couldn’t get an ARC and was denied on NetGalley 😦 But I will be getting a copy as soon as it’s out and reading it right away!

  3. Eeeep! I was SUPER excited when I saw you’d reviewed this Kelsey and I am THRILLED you loved it too 😀 Celeana’s adventures through out were just so much fun, I loved how it showed her softer side at times and how she got trained up to be the best assassin out there. Her relationship with Sam was beautiful and heart-wrenching at the same time ♥ And that last novella pretty much tore my heart into shreds but I loved it all the same! Great review and great advice to have the next book(s) handy heh!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

