Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

the vanishing season

Title: The Vanishing Season
AuthorJodi Lynn Anderson
Release Date/Publisher: July 1st 2014 by HarperTeen
Finished: March 11th 2014
Pages: 256-ARC eBook-got from Edelweiss

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter’s come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County, it seems, is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I’ve watched the danger swell.

The residents know me as the noises in the house at night, the creaking on the stairs. I’m the reflection behind them in the glass, the feeling of fear in the cellar. I’m tied—it seems—to this house, this street, this town.

I’m tied to Maggie and Pauline, though I don’t know why. I think it’s because death is coming for one of them, or both.

All I know is that the present and the past are piling up, and I am here to dig.I am looking for the things that are buried.

From bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a friendship story bound in snow and starlight, a haunting mystery of love, betrayal, redemption, and the moments that we leave behind.

What I Thought:

Based on the description above, I expected most of the story to be told from this mystery spirit/person thing and having it be a murder mystery. Sadly it wasn’t, and what I read was not what I expected.

Maggie is our main character and her family moves to a new small town after hardships, where she then becomes friends with Pauline next door. I couldn’t really understand how they became friends at times. It felt more like Pauline was just telling Maggie what to do sometimes and she went along with it. Pauline also always seemed to get her way. It was just weird to me. There’s love and heartbreak for these girls as the story goes on too, and some romance that drives the story the most out of anything.

Then the murders of teenaged girls was added in. I was hoping this mystery would also be brought to the front of the book and be the main focus but it really wasn’t and this kind of disappointed me. They were going along with their daily lives for most of the book doing random activities, and then a news story hits of a girl getting killed. The focus barely stays on that very long.

This one was hard to review and rate to be honest. I didn’t hate it but I also didn’t like it. I did keep reading, but it was more that I kept waiting for something to happen in their daily lives, something exciting. Yes there was a certain event near the end, but even that didn’t do much for me. There wasn’t even much of a build up to the end and finding out everything, or most things in this case. Stuff just happened, and it didn’t stir any emotions in me, which isn’t hard to do usually.

If you want a book that focuses more on the story of two random friends and less on the mystery, then you should still try this one out. It wasn’t really for me.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

  1. I’m sorry this one didn’t work out for you as well as you’d hoped Kelsey! I agree, the synopsis seemed to hint that the story would be told from a mystery person’s/spirit’s POV. It’s a shame that such a prominent aspect of the blurb was pushed to the background of the story. Misleading blurbs can be a real bummer sometimes >.< I'll admit I was curious about this one but I was expecting the story to be like the synopsis. Reading your review makes me think I'd better pass on this one. Excellent review all the same (as usual)

    • The synopsis really can make or break a book, and this one might not help this book as much as it could. I can still see why some people might enjoy it though.
      Aww thanks 😀

  2. Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’m going to skip this one. It just doesn’t sound like my thing, AND I accidentally got spoiled, so I know about the Bad Thing that happens, and I just don’t want to put myself through that. Sorry you were underwhelmed . . .

    • That bad thing just kind of breezed by and after reading this book I just didn’t have the emotion for it.
      That’s why we review books though right 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

