Review: Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

ruin and rising

Title: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Release Date/Publisher: June 17th 2014 by Heny Holt and Co.
Finished: June 20th 2014
Pages: 432-Hardcover-owned
Series:
1. Shadow and Bone
2. Siege and Storm
3. Ruin and Rising

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The capital has fallen. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

What I Thought:

I was beyond excited to read this after loving the first two books so much! I got it the weekend before release since my bookstore had it in early, and I actually started reading it the day it was supposed to be out. The cover is even prettier in person too.

This book really does the series justice, it was so good and so much went on! Everything finally gets wrapped up in this and even more things happen to amp up the tension. There were even a few moments where I couldn’t believe something was happening. Our favourite pirate prince makes another appearance in this, which was awesome because I missed him! He was probably my favourite male character, but after the last book I can really appreciate Mal, and even moreso in this one.

I had trouble putting this down, but at the same time I never wanted the book to end. I really can’t say too much without spoiling things, but the ending was so good. Although there is so much sadness and loss in this book it seems like things worked out the way they were supposed to, and I was fully satisfied with everything. I even cried a little at the last chapter, since I’ve been so into this series.

I seriously love this series and suggest you give it a try, and if you’ve already started it make sure you continue!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you loved this one too!

    I was like you; I wanted to hurry and read it, but I didn’t want it to end. I was able to drag it out for 3 days. I will be re-reading it soon, I think! I’ve ordered the B&N copy, so I’ll have the Darkling’s pages to read. Guess I should just go ahead and read the book again while I’m holding it, right? 🙂

    This series is now part of my “Favorites” collection. I never thought I would like fantasy so much, but I loved this and The Girl of Fire and Thorns. They’re both my fantasy loves!

    Have you read Rae Carson’s series?

    • This one is part of my favourite series too! I will re-read all three of them at some point, I think I’ll love them all even more then 🙂
      I’ve read the first two books of Rae’s series, but I need to re-read them and then finally get to the third book soon.

  2. I haven’t started this series yet but I’ve been hearing great things, particularly about this book. Might be time for me to finally check it out!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

