Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress

Title: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Release Date/Publisher: February 4th 2014 by Feiwel and Friends
Finished: May 16th 2014
Pages: 550-Hardcover-owned
Series:
1. Cinder
2. Scarlet
3. Cress
3.5. Fairest
4. Winter

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

What I Thought:

It’s been a little while since I read Cinder and Scarlet, but this book got me right back into the action and I loved it! I was worried I would be totally lost and forget characters, but thankfully I was able to clue back in quickly. There were a few little sentences provided by the author as to what happened before that helped too. I love seeing this stuff in series books.

We are introduced to another character called Cress. She’s really shy since she’s been alone for many years, but I also really liked her. Her awkwardness around people really helped me feel for her and connect, and her hacker abilities really helped out the team. Her crush on Thorne was also the cutest!

They’re still on the run but things develop even faster after they meet Cress. There’s even more going on behind the scenes on Luna with their Queen, and the royal wedding coming up has got everyone scrambling to think of ways to make it stop. There was so much adventure and action and the fight scenes were really good. Cinder also becomes more confident in her Lunar abilities, and although sometimes she feels overwhelmed she still does what she can. I think out of the girls we meet so far, Cress is my favourite though.

This third book in the series does not disappoint and I really suggest you read these books if you haven’t already started.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. I also really love the reminder sentences for books in a series since I never reread the previous books ;-). Sometimes author do too much of it though, so it was awesome that Cress had just the right amount!

    I think Cress is my favorite character of the series so far, but I’m completely biased since I’m a programmer and also so awkward, haha!

  2. I LOVE this series so much! I think that I still like Scarlet the best, but Cress definitely comes in second!
    Great review 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

