Review: The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

the girl from the well

Title: The Girl from the Well
Author: Rin Chupeco
Release Date/Publisher: August 5th 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire
Finished: June 23rd 2014
Pages: 304- ARC eBook-given on NetGalley

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being has nothing to do with the curiosity toward my own species, if we can be called such. We do not go gentle, as your poet encourages, into that good night.

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

What I Thought:

I was accepted to read an advanced copy of this on NetGalley.

If you’ve seen the Ring movies and liked them, then some of that creepy feel will be in this book, but that’s it. Don’t go comparing them or thinking this book will be exactly like them, because it isn’t, and I don’t want that thought to ruin this book for you. It was really good and so much more than a ghost just looking for revenge.

This story was really well done and it shows a side of a scary ghost that most might not think of. There was definitely some creepy ghosts and moments that made me glad I was reading during the day, but there were people dying at Okiku’s hands as well for what they did. The woman in black freaked me out a bunch, just a warning.

This story seems to be more based on the original ghost legend of Okiku, which I did google to check out. I really liked how the author took that tale and created a modern story that involves her. She’s been through 300 years as a ghost and seems to have evolved a bit, which you see at certain times too.  This whole book is seen through her eyes, but she talks about Tark and Callie and others and what they do, so it’s kind of like you’re immersed in everyone’s lives.

The added Japanese lore and their journey there really became my favourite part about this book, which was a good chunk of it actually. I love stuff like that and reading about it was just the best. The only thing that kind of bugged me in this was the constant counting of Okiku at the beginning of the book. I can see why she did this, and it does slow down after I got 25% in, but it kind of got on my nerves for a while.

If you’re looking for a book with creepy ghosts, but something with a deeper story that involves Japanese lore, then go read this.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

  1. I love the sound of this book. I’m not a big Japanese nut like other people seem to be, but this particular legend sounds quite interesting. And honestly, if it’s creepy, I’m in (: Great review Kelsey

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

