Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

dangerous girls

Title: Dangerous Girls
Author: Abigail Haas
Release Date/Publisher: July 16th 2013 by Simon Pulse
Finished: June 26th 2014
Pages: 388-Hardcover-library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

What I Thought:

The Book Barbies recommended this highly on their blog so it made me really want to read it. I am so glad I did! My library got me a copy pretty fast and I devoured it. I was actually thinking of it at work after a certain chapter near the end left me wondering what happened next.

The main parts of the book switched between segments of the past when Elise and Anna became and grew as friends, and the present where she was standing trial for her murder. Others added pieces were of the trial, news clippings, and audio bits from interviews and such. I thought that was such a great addition for the book, it really helped piece everything together for the reader.

The trial scenes really kept me on edge, wondering what was going to happen next. One particular guy seemed like he really had it out for her, and I felt sorry for her. The fact that it was in another country really drove it home how alone she was too, even though her father was still there as best he could be. I won’t say what happens at the end or give away any of the awesome bits of information, but the ending was so good!

If you’re looking for a great young adult mystery read I highly suggest this one, it really deserves some space on your shelf!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

  1. That’s it! I give in!
    I’ve been seeing this book all over the internet, always with high ratings, and I just was never convinced. I’ve seen this book way too many times now and I finally give in!
    So, thank you for “convincing” me to finally add this to my TBR pile.

  2. Im glad you liked this novel! I just created a book blog and this happens to be the first book I reviewed. Would you fellow book bloggers mind giving me a follow? It would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

