Review: Kinked by Thea Harrison

kinked

Title: Kinked (Elder Races #6)
Author: Thea Harrison
Release Date/Publisher: November 5th 2013 by Penguin Group
Finished: July 6th 2014
Pages: 304-eBook-Library
Series:
1. Dragon Bound
2. Storm’s Heart
3. Serpent’s Kiss
4. Oracle’s Moon
5. Lord’s Fall
6. Kinked
7. Nights Honor

Synopsis from Goodreads

As a harpy, Sentinel Aryal is accustomed to dealing with hate, but Sentinel Quentin Caeravorn manages to inspire in her a burning ire unlike anything she’s ever known. Aryal believes the new Sentinel to be a criminal, and vows to take him out as soon as the opportunity arises. But the harpy’s incessant wrath has pushed Quentin to the limit, and forces him to make a deadly vow of his own.

To put an end to the conflict, Dragos, Lord of the Wyr, sends them on a reconnaissance mission to the Elven land of Numenlaur. Forced to work together, Aryal and Quentin’s mutual antagonism escalates. Each fight draws forth more passion—culminating in an explosively sexual confrontation. But when their quest reveals real danger, Aryal and Quentin must resolve their differences in ways beyond the physical, before the entire Wyr is threatened.

What I Thought

I suggest 18+ for mature scenes scenes

I have to say that I didn’t like this one as much as some of the previous books. It’s not so much to do with the characters since I really liked getting to know Aryal and Quentin. Her being a harpy and having the gift of flight was really cool and I loved how she described it when she was in the sky. They hated each other to start so seeing how they adapted to each other was the best part of the book. Both of them were strong but willing to give into each other, and they went through so much in Numenlaur. The first part of their journey there was really sad, but then when something happens I found it kind of random.

I think the story just didn’t capture me as much as the rest of them did. I didn’t find it as strong or as enjoyable as the other books and usually they capture me and I’m reading as much as I can. This one I couldn’t get into and I kept taking days of breaks from it. It’s not a bad book and it still works with the series, but there’s always going to be one that’s liked less and that was this one for me.

If you’re reading this series though, make sure you still do read this one since the characters make it worth it, even though I didn’t like the whole story as much.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

