Review: Defy by Sara B. Larson

defy

Title: Defy (Defy#1)
Author: Sarah B. Larson
Release Date/Publisher: January 7th 2014 by Scholastic Press
Finished: July 8th 2014
Pages: 336 pages-Hardcover-Library borrow
Series:
1. Defy
2. Ignite

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A lush and gorgeously written debut, packed with action, intrigue, and heart-racing romance.

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king’s army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince’s guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can’t prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she’s sworn to protect?

What I Thought:

I had borrowed this from the library and for some reason I decided to check some of the reviews out on Goodreads before reading, which I don’t normally do. I didn’t want to but I centered on the negative ones and I kind of wondered if I should read this still or not. But I did and you know what? I loved it!! I think I learned my lesson there, just go into it and see what I think from now on.

This book had a lot going for it and it was a pretty good fantasy with some great action. I loved how she was hiding herself as a guy, it reminded me a lot of Tamora Pierce’s Alanna series, which was my favourite and I now want to read again. She was strong and could best even some of the toughest guys and I really liked that. There was also mention of sorcerers and magic, but that was more in the background until it played a bigger part with other people. The prince Damian and Rylan might make you swoon if you read this, fair warning. I don’t really swoon for guys in books, but I could tell that it was there.

The only thing I didn’t like was when certain people found out she was a girl, she started acting like one even after she had been hiding it for so long and she said it wasn’t natural to her. Also the whole love triangle thing. I kind of had a feeling who she might have fallen for, but I felt that they went into it pretty fast, having her fall for guys after she’s revealed to some. She was still strong, but she had a harder time hiding her emotions, and I didn’t think that in a real-life situation that it would disappear quite that fast if it was natural for her. If it wasn’t for that this would have been a 5 out of 5.

If you’re looking for a good fantasy this summer with a strong girl disguised as a guy with a bunch of romance, then you should read this. I’m already eagerly awaiting for the next book to be out already.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Defy by Sara B. Larson

  1. This looks like the sort of classic YA fantasy I used to read as a teenager – I loved the Alanna books. Shame about the love triangle aspect though – I’m really not a fan of those unless done exceptionally well. Great review. 🙂

  2. As much as I was instantly attracted to this book, I was also worried because I’d seen some less than positive reviews. Seeing that you enjoyed it makes me think I’ll take a page from your book and just go for it! The love-triangle worries me too but sometimes they aren’t too too bad 😉 Thanks for the awesome review ^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

