Review: Shift by Rachel Vincent

shift

Title: Shift (Shifters #5)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Release Date/Publisher: March 1st 2010 by Mira Books
Finished: August 2nd 2014
Pages: 441-eBook-owned
Series:
1. Stray
2. Rogue
3. Pride
4. Prey
5. Shift
6. Alpha

Synopsis from Goodreads

Being the first female werecat enforcer isn’t easy. Scars accumulate, but I’m stronger in so many ways.
As for my personal life? It’s complicated. Choices worth making always are. Ever since my brother’s death and my father’s impeachment, it’s all I can do to prevent more blood from spilling. Now our Pride is under attack by a flight of vicious thunderbirds. And making peace with our new enemies may be the only way to get the best of our old foe.
With the body count rising and treachery everywhere, my instincts tell me to look before I leap. But sometimes a leap of faith is the only real option….

What I Thought

*Probably contains a few small spoilers if you haven’t read the previous book*

I know I say it every time for this series, but this one is the best so far. Things really build up and the tension is pretty intense. After the death of a family member and what happens between Faythe and Jace, there doesn’t seem to be much peace or a break from the action, and it seems like nothing can be the same as it was before. The consequences from the previous book come back to haunt them, and it’s just a matter of time before it gets out.

Jace gets more attention and scenes in this one than he did before, and he seems more like an option for Faythe with the way he changes and just seems more mature. There was kind of a love triangle-feel added, but this one didn’t bug me at all. It actually felt more grown-up, even though I still would prefer is she stayed with Marc after all he’s been through for her. Poor guy *pats him on the shoulder*.

The best part of this book was the introduction of a new kind of Shifter which hasn’t happened in the series yet; The Thunderbird. They’re pretty awesome when described in the book, and because of what they are they really do pose a threat to the werecats. Their mindset and the way they work is totally different too and I loved reading about them, even if they seemed a bit frustrating when a certain event of convincing later goes on.

I really loved this book, but I’m getting sad that there’s only one left in the series. At least I can always re-read these again someday!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Shift by Rachel Vincent

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

