Review: In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

in a handful of dust

Title: In a Handful of Dust (Not a Drop to Drink #2)
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Release Date/Publisher: September 23rd 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
Finished: August 8th 2014
Pages: 384-eBook ARC-given to review
Series:
1. Not a Drop to Drink
2. In a Handful of Dust

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The only thing bigger than the world is fear.

Lucy’s life by the pond has always been full. She has water and friends, laughter and the love of her adoptive mother, Lynn, who has made sure that Lucy’s childhood was very different from her own. Yet it seems Lucy’s future is settled already—a house, a man, children, and a water source—and anything beyond their life by the pond is beyond reach.

When disease burns through their community, the once life-saving water of the pond might be the source of what’s killing them now. Rumors of desalinization plants in California have lingered in Lynn’s mind, and the prospect of a “normal” life for Lucy sets the two of them on an epic journey west to face new dangers: hunger, mountains, deserts, betrayal, and the perils of a world so vast that Lucy fears she could be lost forever, only to disappear in a handful of dust.

In this companion to Not a Drop to Drink, Mindy McGinnis thrillingly combines the heart-swelling hope of a journey, the challenges of establishing your own place in the world, and the gripping physical danger of nature in a futuristic frontier.

What I Thought:

I was approved to read an Advanced Review Copy from Edelweiss.

This one totally snuck up on me. I originally had no idea that there was going to be a second book when I read Not a Drop to Drink until someone told me. I really liked that one though so when I saw the opportunity to read this one I went for it.

Getting to see Lucy and Lynn as they were older was really awesome, especially how their personalities after the last book have adapted. I really liked Lucy because she was always filled with such hope and possibility even after things kept happening to them. Lynn was still the protective type and would do anything for Lucy, although I would have liked to see inside her head during this book instead of the singular POV of Lucy.

This book was divided into 4 different parts to help separate their journey. The second one that included their travel felt the slowest for me. There was always danger of other people and them possibly dying from no water which did keep me on the edge, but sometimes I still felt it dragged on a little bit for me when that action was done. I think the fact that the first book was a much faster pace with things going on is a little more what I was expecting. That’s not to say though that it wasn’t a good read, I just wanted to get to the good part quicker. The last two sections and the Epilogue were really good though and worth it.

If you liked Not a Drop to Drink I think you will like this one as well, even if you don’t like sequels very much. And if you haven’t read the first one go get a copy!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

  1. I just read your review of the first book as well, and I must say I am intrigued by this series. I think I’ll have to check it out (I like the covers of the books too, I am suck a sucker like that lol) I really am starting to wish there were more standalone books though. I know they exist, but everything I’ve seen lately seems to be part of a series :/

    • I hope you do check them out!
      I really wish there were more standalone books too, sometimes it gets to be a bit too much when we all have to wait so long to read the next installment.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

