DNF Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

exquisite captive

Title: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1)
AuthorHeather Demetrios
Release Date/Publisher: October 7th 2014 by Balzer + Bray
Finished: August 8th 2014
Pages: 480-ARC eBook-Edelweiss
Series:
1. Exquisite Captive
2. Blood Passage
3. Freedom’s Slave

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Forced to obey her master.
Compelled to help her enemy.
Determined to free herself.

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Stuffed into a bottle and sold by a slave trader, she’s now in hiding on the dark caravan, the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command. She’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia from her master so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother—all for an unbearably high price. Nalia’s not sure she can trust him, but Raif’s her only hope of escape. With her enemies on the hunt, Earth has become more perilous than ever for Nalia. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle…and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him. Battling a dark past and harboring a terrible secret, Nalia soon realizes her freedom may come at a price too terrible to pay: but how far is she willing to go for it?

Inspired by Arabian Nights, EXQUISITE CAPTIVE brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light.

What I Thought:

I was accepted to review an advanced copy of this from Edelweiss.

I got to 49% before I decided to put this down. I really tried to continue reading this but to be honest I felt like it was boring and nothing at all really happens. I had such a hard time reading and getting into it that I actually had to take a break and read a few other books in-between. It just wasn’t capturing me at all and I felt that Nalia’s talking droned on and she kept touching base on the same point over and over again. Yes I felt sorry that her brother was in a horrible place and she wanted to save him, but I didn’t need to be reminded so much, it felt like it was trying too hard to win me over. The descriptions for everything felt too drawn out and lasted pages until I just started skipping a few of them near the end. The idea of their magic and the world they came from was really interesting and what originally drew me in, but the story itself was just lacking. The fact that there was a love triangle brewing kind of turned me off since one of the guys was really violent and abusive, and I really didn’t want to see more of that either.

This doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t read this book. I hope that you do and maybe you’ll love it since I’ve seen that other people have. I’m probably not continuing this series either.

DNF

4 comments on “DNF Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

  1. Well, I’ve been going back and forth with wanting to read this one personally and seeing how you described the writing style, the heroine AND the iffy-romance factor makes me think I’ll wait on it for sure…if I don’t put it off indefinitely. I think most of the things that bothered you here would bother me too! I’m sorry this one was a letdown Kelsey and hopefully your next read is/was better 🙂 Thanks for the insightful review ^^

    • The funny thing is one of the first reviews I saw just before I read it was a negative one, but I still wanted to give it a go and give it a chance. You’re welcome 🙂

  2. Huh, this is ringing loud bells for me, as you’re the second person I’ve seen who DNF it. That’s unfortunate, because the synopsis sounded promising. It’s such a bummer when books just fall flat 😦

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

