Review: The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

the perfectionists

Title: The Perfectionists
Author: Sara Shepard
Release Date/Publisher: October 7th 2014 by HarperTeen
Finished: August 11th 2014
Pages: 336-ARC eBook-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In Beacon Heights, Washington, five girls—Ava, Caitlin, Mackenzie, Julie, and Parker—know that you don’t have to be good to be perfect. At first the girls think they have nothing in common, until they realize that they all hate Nolan Hotchkiss, who’s done terrible things to each of them. They come up with the perfect way to kill him—a hypothetical murder, of course. It’s just a joke…until Nolan turns up dead, in exactly the way they planned. Only, they didn’t do it. And unless they find the real killer, their perfect lives will come crashing down around them.

From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, comes another story of dark secrets, shocking twists, and what happens when five beautiful girls will do anything to hide the ugly truth.

What I Thought:

I received an advanced review copy of this from Edelweiss.

I have never read the author’s other popular series Pretty Little Liars, so I can’t compare for those that might ask. This book was ok but nothing amazing to be honest. It was interesting to a point but a few things bugged me.

First was that I thought it was a stand-alone book since no series information was on Goodreads. But after finishing it and reading a few comments apparently it’s being continued, which really sucks because I wanted everything wrapped up in this book.  I kept reading it because I wanted to know who murdered Nolan but the story kept dragging on and although the girls are convinced who it was, it was never confirmed by police. Then it leaves you on a cliffhanger with many other things unanswered. I really didn’t want to invest in another series to be honest. I kind of have a feeling that I know who’s behind it though.

The other thing was the actual plot. There was so much pressure to be perfect but I really didn’t feel that in the story. Yes a few of them had difficult tests to get into university, but it felt like it was in the background and not really important compared to love lives (especially those for a few girls) and hiding the truth so they didn’t get caught. Them trying to find out who really did it was good but I felt like other parts could have been developed way more. The characters and their individual stories were pretty interesting too but of course I would have liked more information with a few of the characters and their past. I just wanted more in general from this whole book.

So if this still sounds interesting to you or maybe you’re a fan of her books go ahead and read it. Be warned that it’s another series (as far as I know) so you might be reading it for years to come. I don’t know if I actually want to continue this or not but I’ll wait and see.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

