Review: Omens by Kelley Armstrong

omens

Title: Omens (Cainsville #1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Release Date/Publisher: August 20th 2013 by Random House Canada
Finished: August 22nd 2014
Pages: 486-Hardcover-owned
Series:
1. Omens
2. Visions
3. Deceptions

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions.

But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens.

Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past.

Aided by her mother’s former lawyer, Gabriel Walsh, Olivia focuses on the Larsens’ last crime, the one her birth mother swears will prove their innocence. But as she and Gabriel start investigating the case, Olivia finds herself drawing on abilities that have remained hidden since her childhood, gifts that make her both a valuable addition to Cainsville and deeply vulnerable to unknown enemies. Because there are darker secrets behind her new home, and powers lurking in the shadows that have their own plans for her.

What I Thought:

I’ve had this book for a while on my shelf, pretty much since it released but I never read it until now. I guess I was worried at getting it mixed up with her other Adult series, Women of the Otherworld which I’m currently re-reading. But let me tell you that this book definitely stands out on its own! It captured me and I really had a hard time putting it down at all. I really shouldn’t have waited, but the good news is I have the next book since it just came out as I write this!

I really liked Olivia as a character. She was raised a rich kid but when things got tough she was willing to start from the bottom to prove she didn’t need the charity of other people. She was strong but also really smart as she proved during the book. When she finds out who her parents are everything changes and she does what she can to get away from it all and discover who she really is. Eventually she ends up in Cainsville. I really loved this town, it seemed steeped with lore and lots of omens that Olivia kept noticing. I loved hearing about them and the hints at myths that I hope we see more of in the next book.

Then there’s the crafty Gabriel. He seemed like he was only doing things for himself, but I really think there’s more to him and I can’t wait to learn more. His partnership with Olivia to find out more about her parents was so good, and I loved everything they found out and all that happened because of it. The added little mystery aspect was awesome and there’s even some gun shooting action. There isn’t a romance shadowing the whole story but in the future who knows. I know I wouldn’t mind seeing him come out of his shell more.

I could honestly keep saying more good stuff about this book, but I don’t want to give anything away. If you love this author this is a must read! Actually just read it even if you’ve never heard of her. Seriously.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Omens by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Weeee! Another winning Kelley Armstrong series to add to my shelf 😀 I was hoping this would end up being a good one and honestly, I’m not surprised that it is! I LOVE how much you enjoyed this one!! Thanks for the awesome review ^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

