Review: Inferno Park by J.L. Bryan

inferno park

Title: Inferno Park
Author: J.L. Bryan
Release Date/Publisher: August 13th 2014 by J.L. Bryan
Finished: September 9th 2014
Pages: 378-eBook-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Carter was only twelve when he witnessed the disaster that killed more than a hundred people at Starland Amusement Park. Five years later, Carter’s hometown is no longer a busy Florida panhandle resort, but a slowly dying town full of empty motels and attractions rusting behind chains and padlocks.

Now something evil stirs in the ruins of the old amusement park…something with an alluring siren song drawing visitors into the dark mysteries of the forbidden world behind the gate. Something with an appetite for restless, yearning souls.

Carter reluctantly returns to the old park in the company of a new girl in town, who is obsessed with urban decay and pop-culture ruins, and discovers the evil at work. To stop it, and protect the children of the town, Carter will have to face his oldest and deepest fears.

What I Thought:

I know I normally post on Tuesdays, but this book needed to be shared on Halloween. This is full of some scary stuff that I don’t doubt will give some people nightmares. The first chapter alone got me hooked. Just reading about the sink hole and all the destruction something like that could cause was sad but started out this horror book well. I’m pretty sure I was just gaping with my mouth open at the book after reading it. If you’re not one for a lot of people dying, some in gruesome ways, be warned that there’s some of that in here. It didn’t bother me though.

And now I have to figure out where to start without giving any spoilers away! Based on the description you can tell that something happens with the amusement park to make it a dark place. People start going in and they don’t come back out. Lots of people die and some scary stuff happens when people get stuck in the park. I would be so scared if I couldn’t get out of somewhere like in this book. Honestly I would be scared to go to an amusement park at night after reading this, especially if I saw a guy just like the one in this book who coerces some of the kids. *shudders*

I know my review has probably been vague, but I don’t want to give anything away that might ruin this creepy read. It’s not just full of people dying, there’s also a really good story that goes deeper into the building of the park and more. I had a great time reading it, but I think it would be best in the month of October with some candy and glowing pumpkins nearby. Definitely a great choice for Halloween or when you want to read a great horror book!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Inferno Park by J.L. Bryan

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

