Review: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan

Ellie Jordan Ghost Trapper

Title: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #1)
Author: J.L. Bryan
Release Date/Publisher: September 19th 2014 by jlbryanbooks.com
Finished: September 16th 2014
Pages: Unknown, guessing a bit over 300
Series:
1. Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
2. Cold Shadows
3. The Crawling Darkness
4. Terminal

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ellie Jordan’s job is to catch and remove unwanted ghosts. Part detective, part paranormal exterminator, Ellie operates out of Savannah, Georgia, one of the oldest and most haunted cities in North America.

When a family contacts her to deal with a disturbing presence in the old mansion they’ve recently purchased, Ellie first believes it to be a typical, by-the-book specter, a residual haunting by a restless spirit. Instead, she finds herself confronting an evil older and more powerful than she’d ever expected, rooted in the house’s long and sordid history of luxury, sin, and murder. The dangerous entity seems particularly interested in her clients’ ten-year-old daughter.

Soon her own life is in danger, and Ellie must find a way to exorcise the darkness of the house before it can kill her, her clients, or their frightened young child.

What I Thought:

I know I’ve mentioned before that anything to do with ghosts scares me, but for some reason because of that I’m drawn into it anyway. I love watching those shows where people go investigate if ghosts are in houses for instance! Since I’ve seen a bunch of them, I can really tell that the author researched all the equipment and how they do it. It almost felt like I was watching another show, but it was so much better because it was told by one of the actual hunters, seen through her perspective.

It’s not just a basic “go to house and easily capture ghost” event too. They do research about the house, about the ghosts and the people in it and interact with the family to try and figure out what to do. There’s even a specific place they add to their list that was super creepy! I think the whole history of the house was perfect for what was really going on in there too, and the buildup to the end was just so good.

I really liked the characters too. When they mention adding a psychic to the mix and bringing in a guy I was worried that a romance was slipping in and it would ruin the book, but the author’s got us covered. He only helps and Ellie has none of that interest in him, so all you get is a ton of awesome ghost hunting action. Romance later would be okay if it did happen, but it didn’t suit this book so it all worked out for me.

But seriously, this book was written so well, and although I’ve never come into contact and seen a ghost (although I’m positive my first apartment had something but who knows) this was written in a totally believable way and did a good job of scaring me. Especially when I read a bunch before bed. You need to get a copy of this, it would be perfect for a spooky Halloween read. I can’t wait to read more of this series, and I have a feeling this is one that I will re-read next year!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

