Review: Darkhouse by Karina Halle

darkhouse

Title: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1)
Author: Karina Halle
Release Date/Publisher: May 12th 2011 by Metal Blonde Books
Finished: October 29th 2014
Pages: 327-Kindle eBook-was free online
Series:
1. Darkhouse
2. Red Fox
3. Dead Sky Morning
4. Lying Season
5. On Demon Wings
6. In The Hollow
7. Come Alive
8. Ashes to Ashes
9. Dust to Dust

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Enter the world of the highly-acclaimed Experiment in Terror Series by visiting…the Darkhouse:

There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty-something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts.

Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

What I Thought:

I’d originally gotten a copy of this for my Kindle last year when they had it on for free but I never actually got around to reading it. I’d seen many good reviews about the whole series so I finally decided to get to it. Oh my gosh I really liked it!

First I have to say that I really liked the characters. I loved that Perry was short and chubby and not another skinny girl. I could actually relate to her! She seemed like she had a lot going on but she had a great character and I couldn’t stop reading her narrative. Dex was an interesting guy, just when I had him figured out he’d turn around and completely change. He was intriguing because I knew there was something more to him and his past, but it wasn’t annoying like other “mysterious” guys can be in other books, all broody and such. I’m really looking forward to finding out more about these two! There was no insta-love or lust, although she was attracted to him over time, so it was a nice break and it felt way more realistic.

The whole atmosphere was creepy, especially all the journeys to the lighthouse. Her nightmares and other daydreams were pretty spooky too. I didn’t think certain things would be as intense as they were but it was so good. I had a hard time putting this book down so I spent most of my two days off work reading it.

I definitely recommend this book. I really wish I had the next one on my Kindle, but I will be hopefully getting it soon, or most likely already have it for when this review goes live!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: Darkhouse by Karina Halle

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this series forever. I didn’t get to it over Halloween when I planned to, but I hope to read it sometime. I’m glad to see how much you enjoyed it!

  2. Yay!!! I’m glad you finally read it!! LOVE this one … reading your review makes me want to revisit it again. This one and Dead Sky Morning are my favourites in the series … super spooky!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

