Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

a thousand pieces of you

Title: A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)
Author: Claudia Gray
Release Date/Publisher: November 4th 2014 by HarperTeen
Finished: November 6th 2014
Pages: 368-ARC eBook-given for review
Series:
1. A Thousand Pieces of You
2. Untitled
3. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

What I Thought:

I received an ARC eBook copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

I’d had this for a little while before actually reading it, and because of being so busy and in a reading funk lately it’s past the date that it released. I’m not stressing over that though, just wanted to mention it!

This book sounded really interesting when I requested it and the idea of travelling to different dimensions is what made me want to read it so much. The book started out great, with her and Theo travelling to find Paul and make him pay for what happened. After a certain part of the book the worlds started getting less interesting. The first dimension was cool and the Russia one was my favourite. The plot itself and the story of what’s going on was really good though, and although it’s a series you do find out a lot near the end.

The apparent love triangle is what brought the rating down for me (only half a star though). I don’t like love triangles at all, most of the time they’re not needed, and although it swings in one guys favour most of the book she can’t commit because of events from another timeline. And of course the way she keeps thinking of the guys but won’t do anything about either of them kind of bugged me. I know she just wants to fix things and everything is confusing but the romance doesn’t always have to be complicated for it to work. However I can see this being totally different for other people, so don’t dislike the book just because of that. It deserves your attention.

So aside from some romance that could use some work, the travel between dimensions and figuring out what’s going on was really good. I will definitely continue this series and suggest you read it. Also the cover is gorgeous!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

6 comments on “Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

  1. Well thanks for a little more introspect, the only person I know that read this DNFed and barely said anything about it other than that it was bad. I may actually reconsider reading now. On another note, the cover is just darn fabulous.

  2. Hmmm, the love triangle in this makes me feel a bit iffy on whether i should pick this book up or not. Hmmm. I’ll probably have to give it some thought- I mean, dont get me wrong, the whole concept of the plot does sound really interesting. I just hope it will be worth my time…

    • It’s a hard choice to make, I’m getting sick of love triangles but at least this one seemed watered down a little so it wasn’t too bad. It’s up to you, but if you do read it let me know your thoughts 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

