Review: Firebug by Lish McBride

firebug

Title: Firebug (Firebug #1)
Author: Lish McBride
Release Date/Publisher: September 23rd 2014 by Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)
Finished: November 17th 2014
Pages:336-Hardcover-Library
Series:
1. Firebug
2. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ava can start fires with her mind . . . but is it a blessing or a curse?

Ava is a firebug—she can start fires with her mind. Which would all be well and good if she weren’t caught in a deadly contract with the Coterie, a magical mafia. She’s one of their main hit men . . . and she doesn’t like it one bit. Not least because her mother’s death was ordered by Venus—who is now her boss.

When Venus asks Ava to kill a family friend, Ava rebels. She knows very well that you can’t say no to the Coterie and expect to get away with it, though, so she and her friends hit the road, trying desperately to think of a way out of the mess they find themselves in. Preferably keeping the murder to a minimum.

What I Thought:

This was actually even better than I thought it would be. Controlling fires with your mind? Totally awesome. Adding people with other ablilites like changing into a fox and talking to trees? Even better.

Ava was a pretty tough girl and she did what she had to to keep her loved ones safe. I can really appreciate that in a character. She wasn’t whiny, even when things kept getting worse for her and especially after everything that happened when she was younger. Lock and Ezra were good companions and although they didn’t have the same power as her they both made their own contributions. They were pretty badass in their own way in one certain scene. Lock was really supportive and Ezra was just too funny. And before you ask, I saw no love triangle!

The Coterie were almost like a supernatural mob and having them pretty much contract kills on other people was crazy. Venus was pretty evil and I felt sorry for Ava when she did certain things to hurt her. I know I wouldn’t want to piss her off and have her lackeys chase me. The description says that they go on the run, but it’s not for the whole book of them trying to hide, stuff progresses pretty fast and you’re never kept waiting too long.

This was a great start to a new series that I will definitely keep reading. I suggest you go and pick up a copy if this sounds interesting to you!

 

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Firebug by Lish McBride

  1. Oh this sounds interesting. I sometimes wish I could start fires with my mind (controlled ones lol) if only some of these things were real 😉 Great review Kelsey, I think I’ll have to check this one out!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

