Review: Hidden Illusions by Amanda Shofner

hidden illusions

Title: Hidden Illusions (The Hunted #2)
Author: Amanda Shofner
Release Date/Publisher: December 26th 2014 by The Path of least Revision
Finished: December 28th 2014
Pages: unknown-eBook-given for review
Series:
1. Elusive Memories
2. Hidden Illusions

Synopsis from Goodreads:

She’s driven by one purpose

Janey Jones may have escaped the Hunters, but the scars they inflicted still mark her, inside and out. One goal keeps her moving forward: kill Captain Reed, the man who tortured her, destroyed her Gift, and murdered her mother. She’ll do anything to succeed.

He’s seen what blind ambition can do

Will Brown protects people. First his family, now the people he leads in the Gifted army. He knows what needs to be done to keep everyone safe: destroy the Hunters for good. And that’s exactly what he plans to do. The right way.

But one secret binds them, and its ramifications are explosive

When Will and Janey are thrown together, they’re forced to put aside their differences for a greater purpose: find a way to stay alive—and salvage the mission to cut the Hunters down, once and for all.

What they uncover will change their lives forever

What I Thought:

When I started this book I have to admit that I was a bit lost, but to my own fault. I forgot what happened in the last book, and so much did happen, that I should have re-read it or at least checked my notes. That won’t influence my rating, I just wanted to mention it in case. So while I’m not going to compare the first to the second I did enjoy this book!

Janey and Will were such good characters to be in this book. They were complettely different and disagreed with each other so much, and yet they still had some things that tied them together. Janey acted so proud and strong and all she wanted was to achieve her goal, even though you could really see that she was still hurting inside from what happened before. Will was always sticking to the rules and seemed like a great guy who was just trying to protect his loved ones.

The conflict with the Hunters gets a lot more intense. A lot of the book is planning and Janey trying to get on the mission but there’s so much tension, especially from Janey, that it never actually feels slow. It really builds, even when things look like they took two steps backwards. The way things end works well for the series and although I kind of wish there would be another book just so we can see how the characters are doing after this, I understand it had to end.

I’m kind of sad this series is over now, but I defintiely plan on re-reading both side by side in the future! I highly suggest you read and give it a try.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

