Review: Cold Shadows by J.L. Bryan

cold shadows

Title: Cold Shadows (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #2)
Author: J.L. Bryan
Release Date/Publisher: November 28th 2014 by jlbryanbooks.com
Finished: November 21st 2014
Pages: -eBook given for review
Series:
1. Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
2. Cold Shadows
3. The Crawling Darkness
4. Terminal

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Footsteps in the attic. Toys that play by themselves. A dark presence in an upstairs room.

Paranormal investigator Ellie Jordan faces a difficult new case. Her new clients are a family haunted by multiple ghosts and a poltergeist that wrecks their home at night. Their seven-year-old son’s invisible friends may not be imaginary at all, but the restless spirits of dead children.

To clear her clients’ house of the dangerous entities, Ellie must unravel the mysterious deaths of another family who lived in the old mansion more than a hundred and sixty years ago—and she must do it before the ghosts can carry out their malevolent designs on her clients and their children.

What I Thought:

The author gave me a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.

I started this a few days after I got a copy, and I honestly just spend one whole day reading it. I really loved the first book and this one just continues with the awesome stuff! The ghosts are awesome and different from the first book so you can really feel the variety in the writing.

Ellie and her crew are investigating a new place and it’s just about as good as the first book. It kept the creepy and intense atmosphere that drove the first one but this luckily didn’t feel like a copy, it stood on it’s own and didn’t suffer the 2nd book blues syndrome that some series do.

I really liked that they research the place and it’s history (that part to me is important) and there’s a big story going on here. I really loved every second of it and yet again I’m craving the next book. The ending was super good and full of heart stopping moments when you wonder what’s going to happen next and if the ghost hunt is really done.

The author has captured me with this series. It has everything I want in this kind of book and I have no doubt other readers will love it just as much. Make sure you check out this and the first book, they will not disappoint! Now to wait for the third one.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

