Review: Dangerous Boys

dangrous boys

Title: Dangerous Boys
Author: Abigail Haas
Release Date/Publisher: August 14th 2014 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Finished: December 1st 2014
Pages: 336-paperback-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It all comes down to this. Oliver, Ethan, and I. Three teens venture into an abandoned lake house one night. Hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding. The other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder …? Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece the story together – a story of jealousy, twisted passion and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful faces …

What I Thought:

I really loved Dangerous Girls from the same author when I read it months ago, it instantly became a favourite! I’m not sure if it was that love and the high expectations but I didn’t really enjoy this one.

One main thing that made me dislike it more was that I really didn’t like Chloe’s character. I understand that the point was to show that people had a dark side but some of the things she did I just couldn’t agree with or didn’t really like reading about. I didn’t side with her at all, especially when she was dealing with certain urges with Oliver (who I also didn’t like) or treating her mother poorly. I saw that she had things tough but I didn’t find myself sympathizing and I don’t know if that was me or just her character. I know not all book characters are supposed to be likable for a story, and this one was certainly the case, but other things affected my rating too.

Aside from the characters the story was ok, but a lot more predictible than I would have thought. I liked seeing how everything was solved but it seemed like the actual mystery wasn’t as big a part of the book and sometimes it felt rushed. It didn’t feel like it was built as well as it could have been and I was left hanging from what could have been an amazing book. I wanted way more from it.

I know a lot of people loved this book so I still think you should give it a try if you like the description and you want to know what happens. It just wasn’t for me and I didn’t enjoy reading it very much. And definitely read Dangerous Girls!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Dangerous Boys

  1. I’ve been seeing a lot of mixed reviews for this one overall. I really loved Dangerous Girls, though, so I do want to give it a try. I guess it’ll all depend on how much I like like Chloe in this – not clicking with an MC is always a downer. I’m sad the mystery wasn’t that important in the book that’s what I loved the most about the last one. Good to have been warned, though! Great review, hun!

    • The lack of mystery was the big downer in this for me, I could have gotten over Chloe if it would have been better I think. Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

