Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

The Last Time We Say Goodbye

Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date/Publisher: February 10th 2015
Finished: December 17th 2014
Pages: 400-ARC eBook-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

There’s death all around us.
We just don’t pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced review copy of this on Edelweiss.

Wow. That’s one word that summs this book up. I’m trying hard to think of what to say to do this book justice, so hopefully I have.

The book starts out after Ty has comitted suicide. That’s a sensitive and depressing topic just on its own, and I was worried at first that the book wouldn’t handle it well but it did pretty good. We go through the book as Lex, with regular chapters and ones that involve her thoughts in a journal. She’s got a lot of anger and she seems like she’s pushing away people she cares about at times instead of letting them in to help her.

Her family is so broken and full of grief and it really got to me, reading about how they were trying to handle it and move on. I think her mom’s view on things near the beginning was the sadest because she also went through a divorce before it happened and she was just so depressed. Sometimes Lex was angry at her but I know she also cared for her and wanted her to be ok, which is important.

I know so far I’ve only talked about the sad things in this book and how emotional it will probably make you if you read it, but there were some little things too that brighten it up. The last few chapters made me cry a bunch so make sure you have some tissue available. This was a really good book so make sure you read it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

  1. I really enjoyed this one and I found she handled the topic of suicide very well! I found it was a super emotional read, though, and might not be for everyone, but I’m glad you liked it!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

