Review: The Aftermath by Jen Alexander

the aftermath

Title: The Aftermath (Aftermath #1)
Author: Jen Alexander
Release Date/Publisher: August 26th 2014 by Harlequin Teen
Finished: December 15th 2014
Pages: 288-hardcover-Library
Series:
1. The Aftermath
2. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sometimes, I dream that I’m someone else.

A girl with dark hair who doesn’t worry about hunger

or thirst or running from flesh-eaters.

In her world, those sorts of things don’t exist.

Since the spring of 2036, when the world changed forever, Claudia and a small clan of survivors have roamed the streets of a very altered Nashville: polluted and desolate, except for the ever-present threat of cannibal Hoarders. Together they must undergo punishing tests of endurance and psychological challenge sometimes with devastating consequences all just to live another day.

With food and water in dwindling supply, and with danger lurking around every corner, no one can be trusted. And as her world starts to make less and less sense, Claudia begins to realize something terrifying: she is just a pawn in some sort of game, and all of her actions are being controlled from afar by a mysterious gamer. So when she meets a maddening and fascinating outsider named Declan, who claims to be a game moderator, she must decide whether to join him in exchange for protection and access to the border.

If they play the game right, they are each other’s best hope for survival and a life beyond the only world Claudia’s ever known: the terrifying live-action game known as The Aftermath.

What I Thought:

I saw a review of this on another blog and when they mentioned the gaming aspect I knew I had to read it. I play video games when I’m not reading in my spare time so I was really hoping this would be something I liked. I’m happy to say that I really liked it and I just can’t wait for the next book, especially after the way this one ended.

I loved how they blended a post-apocalyptic world with a survival gaming aspect. It was also sad how Claudia had to survive in that world, and sometimes what she did really made me feel for her. She’s had a tough time and after a certain thing happening she had even more to figure out, like how she got there and what to do about it. Many times I felt myself wondering what was going on, but in a good way that kept me reading.

Claudia was a strong character that did what she had to to survive, even when it meant hurting others. Sometimes I wished she would just listen to what people wanted to tell her instead of just interrupting though. I think a few things might have been figured out faster that way, but it all worked out eventually. There’s still some things that need to be solved but luckily there’s another book for that.

This was an interesting start to a new series that I really want to continue. Even if you’re a gamer or not, I think you might like this book!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Aftermath by Jen Alexander

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

