Review: Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

mortal heart

Title: Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3)
Author: Robin LaFevers
Release Date/Publisher: November 4th 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Finished: January 14th 2015
Pages: 444-Hardcover-Owned
Series:
1. Grave Mercy
2. Dark Triumph
3. Mortal Heart

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn’t mean she has…

What I Thought:

This series has been one of my favourites since I started the first one and I loved this one just as much. I’m sad to see it end but it will definitely be a series that I re-read in the future, especially now that all the books are out.

If you loved the first two books this one will be just as good. If you haven’t started this series, don’t read any more of my review, just go get the first book and give it a go.

This one has Annith as our main character and I know that other people were as eager as me to see it from her point of view. I actually really liked her character. She seems like the nice girl who always listens and does what she’s told, but as we see through her mind she’s defintiely not. She’s doesn’t want to do what she’s told, but it’s more of a necesity for her that she learned from growing up. Although she seems different in the ability aspect than the other girls, she trains twice as hard to make herself the best she can be.

This book is also a bit different because the gods/saints are mentioned and actually featured more which was really cool. She also meets two interesting groups of people that I loved hearing about, but I won’t ruin that for you. We also get to see Sybela and Ismae again which was great, since I really liked them. Annith’s story instersects with the other two books from her point of view and actually continues the story to it’s final resolution, which was so good.

This is a must read series that I recommend everyone try, I loved it and really hope you do too!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

