Review: What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

what happened to goodbye

Title: What Happened to Goodbye
Author: Sarah Dessen
Release Date/Publisher: May 10th 2011 by Viking Juvenile
Finished: January 4th 2015
Pages: 402-Hardcover-gifted

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Since her parents’ bitter divorce, McLean and her dad, a restaurant consultant, have been on the move-four towns in two years. Estranged from her mother and her mother’s new family, McLean has followed her dad in leaving the unhappy past behind. And each new place gives her a chance to try out a new persona: from cheerleader to drama diva. But now, for the first time, McLean discovers a desire to stay in one place and just be herself, whoever that is. Perhaps Dave, the guy next door, can help her find out.

Combining Sarah Dessen’s trademark graceful writing, great characters, and compelling storytelling, What Happened to Goodbye is irresistible reading.

What I Thought:

I received this book as a Christmas gift from my Secret Santa, and I’m so glad I got it! I fell in love with Sarah’s writing all over again just like I did with her other books.

McLean has been moving all over ever since her parents divorce and as a way to cope she’s been making different personalities that are completely different from what she was before. When she moves to this new town she ends up keeping her real name and makes real friends without really trying. I really think she grows a lot by the end of the book and I loved seeing her change. I won’t say what is or isn’t resolved but it was so refreshing to read this. There was conflict and so many great moments that made me laugh, and a few sections where I just cried like crazy.

The big theme was family and friends. The romance was small and just a cute little thing that kind of fit and worked near the end of the book. The family issues were the biggest, especially with her and her mom. Divorce can be really tough on everyone and this book really shows that, especially for McLean. She has such anger for her mom but when reading you could really see that her mom was trying. I liked how things finally ended though, and Mclean seemed like a much happier person. I never had any issues with her as a character, yes sometimes she did silly thing but they weren’t frustrating to me, I could understand her.

If you’re a Sarah Dessen fan then you must read this book. If you’re just looking for a fun, sweet, and emotional family book then read this for sure. Nothing was in your face, everything just glided smoothly and this was a great book to start the new year!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

  1. I literally just finished reading The Truth About Forever, and I loved it, so I’m planning on expanding my Sarah Dessen back catalogue pretty soon! This is one I’m eager to read too, it really appeals to me, so I’m glad you loved it!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

