Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

lies i told

Title: Lies I Told
Author: Michelle Zink
Release Date/Publisher: April 7th 2015 by HarperTeen
Finished: February 12th 2015
Pages: 352-ARC eBook-given for review
Series:
1. Lies I Told
2. Promises I Made

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you’ve told yourself?

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family.

But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines’ biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught…including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

What I Thought:

I was given on Edelweiss from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve read other books by this author so when I read the description I knew I had to read it, party because of her past writing. It was kind of a mix of a contemporary with some romance and a dash of suspense.

Grace and Parker were stuck with their parents doing cons to steal and make money, and this promised to be their biggest yet. Grace was an okay character. She was written well and although I didn’t like her too much I really felt sorry for her more than anything. The author really showed how hard the past cons were weighing down on her, and with every new friend she made the guilt shone through. I can understand that she had a tough life before and her parents were there for her, and because of that she didn’t want to say no to this. I really wish she would have stood up and said she wasn’t going to do this to the people she cared about, and I think that’s what bugged me the most about her.

This book was interesting in a way that I wanted to get to the end and figure out if/when they would get caught and what would happen. From the beginning I just knew something was going to happen and I kept looking for clues. Unfortunately I felt like the ending wasn’t that good. Stuff does go down but it wasn’t as dramatic as it was building up to be, and one major thing I was waiting for never happened. It just felt dull. It felt like the book just ended when there could have been more written for a final resolution. (I just found out this was a series and adjusted it, but I still felt like there could have been more added to the end).

This book was a fast read that made you want to see how they would pull off the con and I did enjoy it up to a point. If this sounds interesting to you make sure you give it a shot ans maybe tell me your thoughts!

 

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

Advertisements

2 comments on “Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

  1. This sounds interesting, but I’m not sure it’s the kind of book for me. It’s a shame the ending wasn’t that great for you, I hate it when that happens! Kinda sucks some of the enjoyment out of the book.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s