Review: Lying Season by Karina Halle

lying season

Title: Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4)
Author: Karina Halle
Release Date/Publisher: December 12th 2011 by Metal Blonde Books
Finished: February 16th 2015
Pages: 348-Kindle eBook-bought
Series:
1. Darkhouse
2. Red Fox
3. Dead Sky Morning
4. Lying Season
5. On Demon Wings
6. In The Hollow
7. Come Alive
8. Ashes to Ashes
9. Dust to Dust

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

What I Thought:

I have to say that I enjoyed this book so much! There was a reoccurring super creepy ghost that Perry kept seeing and I was worrying with every encounter. The place they went to was super creepy too, I watch ghost shows and those places are always the worst (I won’t say where they go just in case!). While there’s a lot of scary stuff to keep you going there’s just so much more in this book.

For instance my favourite was the fact that perry had to stay with Dex and Jenn. That led t quite some funny interactions, although also emotional on perry’s part. She still loves Dex and seeing him with Jenn is painful. I personally hated Jenn, but mostly for the way she acts in the book. The romantic tension really builds and snaps in this book and near the end you’re really happy with what’s been developing, and then there’s an insane cliffhanger!

I have to say that even though this book has less actual ghost hunting, we see a lot more of Dex and Perry’s relationship and learn more about them, especially something Dex has been hiding. And we also have the stalker ghost that follows so we’re covered in the creepy factor.

I think along with the first book, this is one of my favourites so far. There were moments where I was laughing to myself while reading and of course where I would look around my place to make sure I didn’t have any creepy things around. Definitely a series that needs more attention, so please go give this a try! Start with the first book of course.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

