Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red queen

Title: Red Queen (Red Queen #1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Release Date/Publisher: February 10th 2015 by HarperTeen
Finished: March 16th 2015
Pages: 383-Hardcover-Library
Series:
1. Red Queen
2. Untitled
3. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood–those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard–a growing Red rebellion–even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

What I Thought:

This is one of those books that I borrowed it from the library and then decided that I just had to own it and the whole rest of the series. Yeah, it was that good. I’ve been hearing from so many other bloggers that they loved it and now I see why.

Mare is a Red and a thief, but through luck she ends up living with all the other Silver royalty under a lie. She has powers just like other Silvers, which has never happened before. So they decode to hide her and teach her in plain  sight. During this the Reds have a rebellion and things keep escalating as they try and fight for their freedom.

There is just so much going on and the pace keeps pretty steady so you just end up getting absorbed and never want to stop reading. There’s such a good combination of action, spying, romance, magic, betrayal and much more. I loved seeing Mare try to adapt to her new life at court and how their world almost seemed like a fantasy set in a new world, but with a modern mix thanks to their familiar technology. There does seem to be a few guys that really like Mare, and while she does get swept up in those thoughts a few small times, it isn’t too much. It felt like a love-square more than anything but the rest of the story is way more important and prominent, so you might not even notice it at all. She thinks more about the Reds rebellion more than anything.

I have to say that this was such a good book! The different powers the Silvers had were really cool too, and I have a feeling there will be even more of them mentioned in the next book. I’m going to be buying this book as soon as I can for my collection, and I suggest you do too! I have a feeling we will see more great things from this author.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I’ve actually been seeing some negative reviews on this lately, so I put off reading it. So glad to hear you liked it so much. I think I’m going to make it my next pick on audible. 🙂

  2. Gah! I just love it when a book takes you by surprise and you end up HAVING to own it 😀 Most of the reviews I’ve seen for this one were positive but a few were middling as well but the fact that you liked it so much makes me want to read it right meow! The action, spying and fantasy setting sound right up my alley in any case. Thanks for the fantastic review Kelsey^^ x

  3. I’m so glad you loved this one. I couldn’t seem to stop comparing it to the other books because I’ve seen that same storyline already..Once you read something like that, it’s hard to let go and remind yourself it’s a different take. I’m still interested in this one. I also love how beautiful the book is..The endpapers are gorgeous

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

